New Tools – Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils – Presse à crémaillère et marchepied

Voici mon nouvel outil, une presse à crémaillère d’une tonne. J’attendais une bonne occasion et je l’ai eu à 50% de rabais. Son poids, 15kg (33 lb).

Here is my new tool, a one ton arbor press. I’ve been waiting for a good deal and I got a 50% discount. Its weight, 15kg (33 lbs)

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Je commence par tout nettoyer avec du solvant.

I’m starting with a good cleanup with solvent.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Ce n’était pas du temps perdu !

This was not wasted time !

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Je vaporise un enduit pour surface de métal pour la protéger de l’humidité ambiante.

I’m spraying a surface sealant to protect it against ambient humidity.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


J’applique de la graisse blanche sur toutes les surfaces en friction, surtout la crémaillère.

I’m applying white grease on all rubbing areas, particularly the pinion.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Je bloque la rondelle de maintien et je fais les ajustements de la colonne.

I lock the lock ring and I make all rack adjustments.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Pour faciliter le déplacement, je perce et je fais un lamage pour y fixer l’outil.

For easy moving, I drill and counterbore to secure the tool.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Un premier écrou est inséré dans le trou pour center le boulon et une rondelle précède le second écrou.

A first nut is threaded in the hole to center the bolt and a washed is followed by a second nut.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Pour stabiliser l’outil et prévenir les glissements, j’ajoute un tapis de caoutchouc avec une colle en aérosol.

To stabilize the tool and prevent it from creeping, I’m adding a rubber pad with spray glue.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Pourquoi cette presse ? Elle sera utile pour percer des trous et marquer des caractères.

Why this arbor press ? It will be handy to punch holes and characters.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Avec ces triangles je pourrai plier le métal.

With those triangles I’ll be able to bend metal.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Parfait pour fermer les œillets.

Perfect to close eyelets.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Finalement j’ai vissé un boîte de métal sur la base pour y garder un chiffon à portée de la main.

Finally I’ve screwed a tin can onboard to keep a rag at hand.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Au lieu de jeter la mousse rigide aux ordures, j’enroule les deux pièces du ruban adhésif.

Instead of thrashing the rigid foam, I’m wrapping the two pieces with packing tape.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Après avoir découpé une chute et l’avoir assujettie avec d’un ruban adhésif costaud, j’ai percé un trou pour un doigt pour le transport.

After cutting and wrapping a scrap with heavy duct tape, I’ve drilled a finger hole to carry it around.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Voici mon deuxième outil, un marchepied léger et relativement solide, pour l’atelier et/ou pour le jardin.

Here is my second tool, a light and relatively strong stool, for the shop and/or the garden.

New Tools - Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils - Presse à crémaillère et marchepied


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

10 Responses to New Tools – Arbor Press and Stool / Nouveaux outils – Presse à crémaillère et marchepied

  1. wim31415 says:

    That stool: brilliant!

  2. Eric R says:

    I have that same press Serge but found little use for it besides setting pens together after I finished turning them.
    Then, after I got a pen press, it sat on the shelf.
    I will watch what you do with your press to see what I can do with it too.
    Thank you
    I like your new hard foam packing box stool too.
    “Waste not, want not” !

    • Serge says:

      OK Eric, each time I’ll use my arbor press I’ll find room to share the idea in my articles. I’m already thinking about a jig to bind thin metal plates. I’ll keep you posted. And about the stool, I just love it. Each time I’ll get rigid foam I’ll make one, for me or to give away. They are so light to carry !

      Best,

  3. dixislandboy says:

    Good Day Serge,

    You NEVER fail to amaze me.
    I agree that an Arbor Press is a Handy Tool.
    But —-

    The new stool “floored” me. I love it. I’m waiting to make my own.

    Many thanks for your GREAT suggestions.

    Warmest regards,
    Bill B.

    • Serge says:

      Come on Bill, order a new tool and get the foam out of the box and make your own light stool ! 🙂 (And enjoy the tool too !)

      Best,
      Serge

  4. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Belle acquisition que cette presse
    Une pression d’une tonne te permettra déjà de satisfaire pas de besoin ! ( Et qu’on ne vienne pas t’embêter sous peine de subir le supplice de la presse !!!)
    Ton marche pied a une bonne surface d’appui ( toujours important pour éviter de tomber)

    Au plaisir

    • Serge says:

      Salut Jack,

      Belle acquisition en effet. Je m’empresse de l’essayer !

      Au plaisir d’un prochain partage…

  5. nel2lar says:

    Love the way your mind works. Our landfills would not be as big if more thought like you do. Reuse is a wonderful world

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

