Shaker-style Candle Stand #1 Table basse de style Shaker

Il m’est venue à l’esprit une idée pour fabriquer de façon très simple ce qui pourrait être très compliqué à réaliser selon les règles de l’art (pensez tournage et queues d’aronde coulissantes).

An idea crossed my mind about building a very simple way what would be very complex if it would be built according to the rules of art (think turning and sliding dovetail).


Pour fabriquer les colonnes pour deux tables, j’ai dégauchis une face et deux côtés de ces quatre pièces, lesquelles je colle.

To build the columns for two stands, I jointed one face and two sides of those four blanks, which I’m gluing.




Je coupe les pièces d’équerre à longueur finale à ma station de scies à onglets.

I’m cutting the parts square to final length at my miter saw station.


Au lieu de tourner les colonnes, je vais réaliser des triangles isocèles. Mon triangle à dessin possède l’angle requis de 60°.

Instead of turning the columns, I will cut isosceles triangles. My drafter’s triangle features the 60° requires angle.


Le même triangle est également utile pour régler la lame de scie.

The same triangle is also handy to set the saw blade.


Compte tenu de l’épaisseur, je vais faire deux passes.

Because of the thickness, I will make two passes.


Vous pouvez sans doute constater que le poussoir est indispensable, sinon obligatoire !

No doubt you noticed that a push stick is indispensable, if not compulsory !


Pour couper l’autre côté, je dois déplacer le guide parallèle à la gauche de la lame. J’ai dû également ajouter un guide martyr et j’ai ajusté le guide parallèle avec le trait de scie de la première coupe à mi-bois, laquelle j’ai pu faire en utilisant un poussoir.

To cut the opposite side, I must move the rip fence to the left of the blade. I also had to add a sacrificial fence and I set the rip fence using the saw kerf made a the first cut, which I was able to make half way through using a push stick.




Puisque je ne peux terminer la coupe avec un poussoir, voici ma solution. Notez que je fais un ‘tour de piste’ avant de procéder à la coupe.

Since I can’t complete the cut with a push stick, here is my solution. Take note that I’m making a ‘road test’ before proceeding with the cut.


Succès !

Pour votre information, la chute est demeurée flottante sur la lame de scie. Je m’étais toutefois positionné de côté au cas où cette dernière aurait été projetée en arrière.

Success !

For your information, the waste kept floating on the saw blade. However, I was standing aside just in case it would kick back.


Je fais également un ‘tour de piste’ avant de couper la deuxième pièce.

I also make a ‘road test’ before cutting the second piece.


Succès ! La chute est encore demeurée flottante sur la lame de scie.

Success ! The waste also kept floating on the saw blade.


Pour ne pas oublier, je replace la lame de scie à 90° (pensez expérience).

So I won’t forget, I’m setting back to saw blade to 90° (think experience).


Les chutes me sont très utiles pour maintenir les pièces lors du ponçage de toutes les faces.

Assez de stress pour aujourd’hui !

The wastes are quite handy to hold the stock while sanding all faces.

Enough stress for today !


Pour en savoir plus sur les gabarits et outils maison montrés ci-haut, cliquez sur l’onglet approprié en haut de cette page.

To learn more about the homemade jigs and tools seen above, click on the appropriate tab at the very top of this page.


À suivre…

Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite pour être avisé.

To continue…

Register free at the upper right to be notified.


2 Responses to Shaker-style Candle Stand #1 Table basse de style Shaker

  1. Keith says:

    Just a couple of thoughts:
    1. I am not sure how they go into the table yet, but if you make one of the apexes at the glue joint, you’ll have matching grain on two sides instead of just one. (Sorry, I’m a math major with a thing for grain).
    2. There’s a lot of waste wood here. If you glue up multiple layers, you can use one cut edge to make the edge of the next piece. with only two waste pieces. You can do this with 5 boards instead of 8. If you are really clever, you could glue the outside waste pieces back together to make the 4th leg, thus only needing 4 boards (I’m also frugal) , Sort of like this:
    /\/\/

    I’m getting a headache envisioning this, but I think doing this also you don’t have the cutoff between the fence and the blade, with the possible exception of the last cut.

    Or maybe, as a boss used to say, “I think I might be over-intellectualizing this.”

    • Serge says:

      Hi Keith,

      If you are over-intellectualizing, on my side I’m just having fun building this table, using pallet wood and pine scraps. So, I’m only wasting already wasted wood ! 😉

      Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts about that.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

