Versatile Bench Dog / Butée d’établi polyvalente

Je procède à une première utilisation d’une de mes nouvelles sauterelles à ajustement automatique.

I proceed to a first usage of one of my new self-setting toggle clamps.


Je règle le guide parallèle pour couper des pièces martyres; la bride plus un peu plus que l’épaisseur de la lame de scie.

I’m setting the rip fence for test pieces; the flange plus a bit more than the saw blade thickness.


Installé sur mon traîneau à tronçonner maison, j’ajuste la hauteur de la lame.

Installed on my homemade crosscut sled, I’m setting the blade height.


Maintenant je vais réaliser des feuillures sur la base en devenir.

Now I will make rabbets on the base to become.


Oups ! C’est bien, mais c’est le mauvais côté.

Oops ! It’s good, but it’s the wrong edge.


Je refais la feuillure sur une autre pièce plus large.

I redo the rabbet on another wider piece.


La feuillure terminée, je coupe en largeur, comme au début.

The rabbet done, I cut to width, as before.


Du côté le plus résistant, c’est mieux.

On the stronger edge, this is better.


Les pièces serrées ensemble, je perce pour un goujon (tourillon) 3/4″ (18mm).

The pieces clamped together, I’m drilling for a 3/4″ (18mm) dowel.



Je trace et je perce pour les boulons de fixation.

I trace and I drill for the fixing bolts.



Le collage et l’assemblage.

The gluing and the assembly.



La colle ayant séchée toute la nuit, je teste ma nouvelle butée à action rapide.

The glue having dried overnight, I’m testing my new and quick setting bench dog.


Je peux passer d’une pièce mince à une pièce plus épaisse, sans réglage.

I can swap from a thinner to a thicker piece, without new settings.



Bien que la bride de cette sauterelle soit peu commode, j’ai trouvé une façon de l’utiliser efficacement.

Although the flange of this toggle clamp is awkward, I found a way to use effectively.


Soyez avisé ! Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Be notified ! Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


Juste pour le plaisir du partage, voici une photo de la dernière tempête de neige tombée en douze heures, de mardi à mercredi.

Just for fun of sharing, here is a photo of the last snow storm fell in twelve hours, from Tuesday to Wednesday.


 

18 Responses to Versatile Bench Dog / Butée d’établi polyvalente

  1. Jim says:

    Great idea, Serge. I have one of those clamps that I use for a hold-down on my table saw crosscut sled, but I never thought of this. Thanks.

  2. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, I saw these clamps on sale at a very good price but I couldn’t figure out how I could mount them . I wish I had seen your idea earlier. I just checked the website where i saw them and they must be sold out. 😦

    Cheers
    Mark

    • Serge says:

      Hi Mark,
      I also saw them at a good price, and I bought them. I’m glad I did. I’d guess we both saw them on the same site, BBT, right ? I bought one a while ago and when I figured out how I could use it, I ordered two more. Unfortunately they only had one left in stock. I took a change and I mentioned on my order to throw another one if they find one. And they did.

      Did you get the snow storm already (Stella) ? Did you see the video of the 60 cars smash that happened near Magog ?

      Best,
      Serge

      • Mark Butler says:

        Serge, yes it was BBT where I saw them. Now I know why there are none left :). We got the storm but only 25 cm of snow and no freezing rain. It was wet and heavy though and very difficult to move. My driveway is very long so it took me 5 hours yesterday. The storm before was actually easier to blow even though we got 80 cm. It was dry and light.

        I’m glad I wasn’t on that highway yesterday. I went to Toronto at Christmas and on the way home had freezing rain. Couldn’t go faster than 50 km. Highways 401, 20 and 30 had no salt down. After 12 hours I called it quits and stayed in Drummondville.

        Cheers
        Mark

  3. Eric R says:

    Nicely done Serge.
    That was a great idea and will be very useful.
    And, by the way, you can keep that snow up there. Thank you ! haha

  4. MrB1LL says:

    It is good to have you back posting. I think the “vacation” may have been good for you to recover and bring freshness/vigor to your helpful ideas. Keep up the good work.

  5. mike cline says:

    Excellent Serg. another great idea !

    • Serge says:

      Thank you Mike. Most of the time, when there’s a will, there’s a way. The issue is slowing down usual business to find that way.

      Best,

  6. Sid says:

    Great idea! really comes in handy!!! Congrats. Sid.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

