A Houseman in my Workshop, Please ! / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier !

Avez-vous également la mauvaise habitude de tout déposer n’importe où ?

Depuis quelques jours je n’ai pas le goût de travailler dans mon atelier, même si j’ai la tête pleine d’idées de projets. Après réflexion, c’est sans doute à cause du désordre, particulièrement dans ce coin de l’atelier.

Do you also have the bad habit of dropping everything everywhere ?

Since couple of days I don’t feel like working in my shop, although I have many project ideas in my mind. After a second thought, it’s probably because of the clutter, particularly in this corner of shop.

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


Ce grand plateau devrait suffire pour temporairement rassembler les menus articles.

This big tray should be sufficient to temporarily gather all small items.

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


Un ami m’a donné ce paillasson-égouttoir en caoutchouc, lequel possède une série de rainures destinées à collecter l’eau, ce qui pour moi sera parfait pour y déposer mes meules à eau.

A friend of mine gave me this rubber boot tray, which features a series of rids gathering water, what for me will be perfect to drop my wet grinders on.

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


C’est déjà beaucoup mieux, n’est-ce pas ?

This is much better, isn’t it ?

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


Les meules, lesquelles doivent être accessibles devant et derrière (180°), sont chacune montées sur une base pivotante.

The grinders, which must be accessible from the front and the back (180°), are both mounted on a lazy Susan.

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


Ce plateau que j’ai réalisé dernièrement devient une station de dépôt temporaire, lequel sera rapide et facile à déplacer au besoin (bonne idée, non ?).

This tray that I recently made becomes a temporary collecting station, which will be quick and easy to move when required (good idea, right ?).

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


Finalement, des capots pour la poussière, deux originaux et celui de droite normalement destiné aux ordinateurs.

Finally, dust hoods, two genuine and the right one normally used for computers.

A Houseman in my Workshop, Please / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier


Le travail fini, le plateau vert est rangé à sa place et ce coin est propre et bien organisé. Quelle satisfaction !

The job done, the green tray is stored back in its place and this corner is clean and well organized. What is satisfaction !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

7 Responses to A Houseman in my Workshop, Please ! / SVP, un homme de ménage dans mon atelier !

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, you asked the question – “Do you also have the bad habit of dropping everything everywhere”. When your shop is disorganized it makes mine look like a showroom! I was outside working on my snowblower today and now my workbench is covered in tools as I was too cold and tired to put anything away. We are getting snow tonight so it won’t get cleaned up tomorrow either. Maybe in the New Year :).

    Cheers
    Mark

    • Serge says:

      Mark, I’ve started chuckling as soon as I read your reply and it keeps going. You made my day ! We got snow as well, about 10cm as expected. I’ve eared on TV that you should get more, much more. A good habit of yours is to keep your snow blower in good shape. Keep on blowing snow !

      Best,
      Serge

      • Mark Butler says:

        Yes I’ll be blowing snow for the next few months. I would rather be blowing sawdust but that’s life in Canada 🙂

  2. felicitaciones se ve que todo va de acuerdo a su manera de ser ordenado y de facil acceso, gracias por todo lo del año que se va, feliciades para ud. y los usyos, jorge de argentina

  3. I get into a project and lose all trace of time. I work until I’m too tired and sore to continue. That leaves no time to clean up. Also, I help others. That requires loading up the tools necessary to do work outside my normal shop and garage. Again, working until exhausted, the tools stay in buckets and tool boxes … … and bags … … and my truck floor … … and … … you get the idea.

    I’m left trying to remember which bucket I used, to take which tools where, to backtrack in my mind and in the real world to find that missing tool.

    Looking for a tool for today’s project usually leads me to the tools I was unsuccessfully looking for on a project or two in my past.

    “Oh, THERE’S that thing-a-ma-jig I needed to open the drywall compound bucket !!”

    Or standing there in my Hawaiian shirt and shorts saying, “Oh THERE’S my back up snow brush !!”

    But, I’m a genuinely happy man.

    So there’s a silver lining to my clouded memory.

    Whenever I need to find something, and when I get frustrated, I just whistle a happy tune, and use my lack of organization as an excuse to go to the big box guy heaven, and buy another one.

    I think I have enough duplicates now to outfit my grandson’s shop.

    I really don’t need a “houseman” or “butler” or especially a “cleaning lady” but it would be nice to blame someone else for moving things around instead of taking responsibility for not scheduling clean up time in my life, ever.

    That reminds me of a story. I’ll have to tell it in another little window. I can’t find it right now … have to go looking for it. Type soon.

    Your West Michigan Chapter of the Woodworking Hobbyist’s Workshop Fan Club.

  4. This was written to a friend a few years ago. Perhaps something like this has happened to some of you in the past?

    Neighborly Love

    I feel like Hap Shaughnessy on The Red Green Show, but the “willingly throw out” part of your report reminds me of a story. A true story, believe me. I know, I know, there I go again, but maybe you’ll like it and find it somehow connected to our woodworking lives.
    When I was a student teacher, the lead teacher came in one day sputtering about how ungrateful one of her neighbors was. She was sure it was going to be a deal breaker as far as neighborhood friendships were concerned. It was going to be the finish to what had been a lovely little tradition that everyone looked forward to at the end of a work day.
    During the part of the day, when no one notices the sun is starting its decline and before most of the work-a-day people return to the neighborhood, some of the people that were available took advantage of that small window and got together, put up some lawn chairs, and had that first glass of wine.
    They were composed mostly of stay at home wives, people that got out of work earlier in the day, and retired people. As far as gender goes, the group was made up of all women except the rather handsome divorced retiree who’s driveway and garage opening they used for their outdoor/slightly indoor restaurant/bar.
    Ohhh the giggles and stories. Such fun. Everyone looked forward to that happy hour time with good drink and good friends. Real life was waiting for them after happy hour. Maybe each one of them could take turns making some kind of appetizer to pass for the following day? Good thoughts to hang onto as they finished off a bottle while doing chores at home.
    “But, all good things come to an end.” she mumbled through clenched teeth. The “girls” decided to do something nice to show their appreciation for the man that hosted mini-party after mini-party in his drive. When the light rain threatened, it made them inch into the garage opening. That put a little dampness on the party.
    What better way to thank him than to go over some day when he had to be away, sneak into his garage, and clean up all those tools and pieces of wood and trashy kind of things and make the garage into a lovely place to work and play?
    They cleaned and organized him. It was perfect, so my lead teacher explained to me.
    “And you know what happened?” she said.
    I feigned ignorance, due to my very subordinate position. “No, what?” I questioned.
    “We arrived as usual for our afternoon gathering. When he opened the garage, he started huffing and actually acted angry! No thank yous. No appreciation. Not even a smile from that man. He was very quiet and actually was kind of snippy. No wonder he’s divorced! We’re done with that man.”
    I slumped my shoulders, shook my head, and quietly said, “The very idea …!”
    She wasn’t herself for several days. I’m not sure anyone learned anything from that series of events, but maybe … me.

  5. Thomas Tieffenbacher says:

    Serge,

    Same here, but all spring and summer I worked outside building my tractor/woodshed and then having to rehab the damn lawn tractor! Oh, Oh yeah my truck snow plow quit and my alternator in my car died. Hmmm (expletives deleted) Yep my benches, floors, cabinet saw top are filled with “I’ll put these away later” tools and materials. Shop cabinets are near the top of my wanna, needa, gotta…to do list!

    Funny my brother was just telling my how it would be easy to work in and organized shop this morning. LOL! He is a true minimalist, and he doesn’t do much of anything in a shop.

    Take care my friend! have a great New Year!

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

