Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition #1 Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois

J’ai planifié mon support de tour à bois pour des tablettes ajustables, raison pour laquelle vous voyez des trous équidistants. L’utilisation de cet espace sera toutefois plus efficient avec des tiroirs, donc un nouveau projet d’atelier. Je rêve du jour où j’aurai une place pour chaque chose libérant ainsi les dessus de comptoir. Les tiroirs seront installés dans la partie supérieure des compartiments.

I’ve planned my lathe stand for adjustable shelves, reason why you see equidistant holes. However the use of this space will be more efficient with drawers, therefore a new shop project. I’m dreaming of the day I will have a place for everything thus free all counter tops. The drawers will be installed in the upper part of the partitions.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


J’ai justement des chutes de contreplaqué 1/2″ (12mm) d’épaisseur pour les côtés.

It happens that I already have 1/2″ (12mm) plywood scraps for the sides.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Cette demie-feuille de HDF 1/4″ (6mm) est dédiée aux fonds des tiroirs. Notez comment il est facile et sans risque de couper cette pièce avec mon coupe-panneaux maison. Pour en savoir plus sur ce dernier, cliquez en haut sur l’onglet Gabarits/Jigs Index.

This half sheet of 1/4″ (6mm) HDF is dedicated for the drawer bottoms. Notice how is it easy and risk free to cut such a large piece with my homemade panel cutter. To learn more about this latter, click on the Gabarits/Jigs Index at the very top.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Pour des tiroirs utilitaires, il est plus facile de couper les fonds aux dimensions des ouvertures et ensuite fabriquer les tiroirs en fonction des fonds. En passant, chaque colonne est un peu différente des autres en largeur.

For utilitarian drawers, it is easier to cut the bottoms to the opening dimensions and then build the drawers according to those bottoms. By the way, each column is slightly different from the others in width.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


J’ai déligné tous les côtés au banc de scie.

I’ve ripped all sides at the table saw.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Je réalise une feuillure aux extrémités de tous les côtés latéraux à la scie radiale équipée d’une lame à rainurer ainsi que d’une butée (A).

I make a rabbet at the ends of all lateral sides at the radial arm saw outfitted with a dado blade set as well as a stop (A).

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Les côtés déposés sur le fond, je peux mesurer précisément la longueur des autres pièces.

The sides dropped on the bottom, I can precisely measure the length of the remaining pieces.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Une fois accompli, chaque tiroir est identifié.

Once done, each drawer is identified.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


Après quelques heures de travail bien planifié, tout est prêt pour le collage.

After few hours of well planned work, everything is ready for the glue-up.

Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition / Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois


À suivre…

Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite pour être avisé.

To continue…

Register free at the upper right to be notified.


 

4 Responses to Lathe Stand 10 Drawers Addition #1 Ajout de 10 tiroirs à mon support de tour à bois

  1. Eric R says:

    Good start Serge.
    Extra storage is always something I’m looking for.

  2. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, that’s a good tip, to cut the bottom to fit first. I always cut it last but your way saves a lot of measuring and the potential for errors.

    For me, adding more storage has not eliminated the clutter on the counter tops. It has just meant I could collect more stuff :). However you are far more organized than me so I believe if anyone can clear their counters is will be you :).

    Mark

    • Serge says:

      Mark, All of my shop drawers have been build this way, and there are many of them. No fuss at all !
      As you mentioned, perhaps clutter is a mental disease, meaning I will never see my counters free !! 😉
      However, let’s dream for now ! 🙂

      Serge

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

