Improving My Cabinetmaker’s Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d’ébéniste

J’ai reçu ce tablier en cadeau mais je ne l’aimais pas (chut !). Je devais l’attacher par derrière, et la longue sangle, enfilée de chaque côté dans l’ourlet (rouge), passait derrière le cou, lequel devait supporter tout le poids.

J’ai d’abord retiré la sangle et l’ai coupée en deux, ensuite j’ai ajouté les anneaux (flèches), deux de chaque côté.

I’ve received this apron as a gift but I didn’t like it (shh !). I had to tie it down from the back, and the long strap, threaded in the hem of each side (red), ran behind the neck, which had to support all the weight.

I’ve first pulled out the strap and I’ve cut it in half, then I’ve added the shown grommets (arrows), two on each side.

Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Une extrémité de chaque sangle est passée au travers d’un anneau et un nœud l’y maintient. Chaque sangle passe par-dessus une épaule et elles sont fixées entre les omoplates.

One end of each strap is threaded through a grommet and a knot holds it. Each strap runs over a shoulder and they are attached between the shoulder blades.

Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Une des autres extrémités des sangles comporte un boucle fermée et l’autre est libre.

One of the remaining strap ends has a closed loop and the other is free.

Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Je porte maintenant mon tablier et je peux l’attacher par devant.

Now I’m wearing my apron and I can tie it from the front.

Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Pour l’attacher je fais un demi-nœud.

To tie it I make a half knot.

Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Pour le retirer je tire sur la partie libre de la sangle pour défaire le nœud.

To remove it I pull on the free part of the strap to untie the knot.

Improving My Cabinetmaker's Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d'ébéniste


Je m’excuse pour ne pas avoir dépoussiéré mon tablier avant de prendre les photos !

I apologize for not having dust out my apron prior shooting the photos !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

14 Responses to Improving My Cabinetmaker’s Apron / Améliorer mon tablier d’ébéniste

  1. RémyB says:

    hé oui, l’astuce, c’est de faire porter le poids du tablier
    sur les épaules et non sur le cou.
    C’est ce qui fait la qualité d’un bon tablier.
    je l’avais (copié) effecté sur mon tablier de soudure
    il y a bien longtemps.

  2. CarlTheDabbler says:

    Great idea. No need to apologize for the dust. Without the dust would it be a workshop apron?

  3. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, that’s a good fix for your arpon. There is nothing more unfortable than an apron that hangs around your neck. I’ve never found an apron yet that I haven’t had to make changes to to make it more comfortable and functional.

    Cheers
    Mark

    • Serge says:

      In the old days my wife used to make and sew mines according to my specs. Once she made a 14 pockets apron for me from a store bought design. And all that for free !! 😉

      Best,
      Serge

      • Mark Butler says:

        That sounds like the best solution. I think you should go into business making aprons 🙂 I’ve never found one that didn’t need alterations. The best one I have found (and the most I’ve paid for one) is the Lee Valley one but I still had to do a lot of work to make the pockets more useful but for me, the pencil pocket at the top is too high.

        Cheers
        Mark

        • Serge says:

          Mark, how about filling this top pocket with short pencils only ?? 🙂 The one you’re talking about is way from being cheap !
          Or do as I do, use magnet tucked behind the apron.

          Best,
          Serge

  4. Dans certaines circonstances, cette façon d’attacher votre tablier devant vous peut s’avérer dangereuse (penser au cordon qui s’enroule ou se prend accidentellement dans un outil en marche).

  5. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Le cou a déjà suffisamment de choses à porter ( la tête et tout ce qu’il y a dedans et tout ce qu’on voudrait qui en sorte !!!) alors que diable laissons le tranquille : ton astuce va dans le sens de la protection de nos cous et c’est très bien ainsi.

    D’ailleurs ne dit on pas que le poids repose sur les épaules ????

    Ah quand le design prime sur le fonctionnel …

    Au plaisir

  6. Thomas Tieffenbacher says:

    Serge! Your even modifying shop apparel LOL! Figure out a way to keep sawdust out of the pockets and you will be able to patent it. Hope your coffe for signs program is going well. Been doing mechanical repairs with Murphy showing me how not to do it. LOL! Also building a lawn tractor wood shed out of materials I have saved for “someday” and it’s a lot like building a furniture project.

    Take care my friend and we have to get ready for winter.

    • Serge says:

      Hi Tom. I know one way to keep the dust out, but it’s not quite productive !! 🙂
      The restaurant across the street is closed since April. Sniff ! But a new one is planned to open by the end of October. We’ll see how much they will charge for their meals.
      Good luck with your shed. Nice to have a tractor I suppose. You’re right, Winter is just around the corner. Last night it was very close to freezing up here. I guess this is the price to pay for my sins !!! 😉

      All the best my friend…

      • Thomas Tieffenbacher says:

        Get your sign making tools ready! Hey Happy Canadian Thanks Giving Day! Murphy and I just finished (mistakes and all) a window frame for the shop. The tractor is my wife’s request. I’m getting older ahd who knows?

        • Serge says:

          Thanks Tom. By the way, your windows, are they 7 or 10 ? 🙂 Good luck !
          You know what, I realized that I’m getting older each and every day ! 🙂

          Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

