Spicy Stain / Teinture épicée

J’ai en tête un autre projet pour l’Halloween et ce dernier requière une finition de couleur orangée. Quand j’ai vu le pot d’épice de curcuma, orangée, l’idée de l’essayer en teinture m’est venue.

I have in mind another Halloween project and this latter requires an orange color finish. When I saw the turmeric spice container, orange, the idea of trying it as a dye crossed my mind.

Spicy Stain / Teinture épicée


Au cours de mes essais j’ai mélangé eau, curcuma, ensuite ajouté quelques gouttes d’extrait d’érable et de la poudre de cacao. Malheureusement, après mes essais je n’ai obtenu que du jaune.

Throughout my tests I’ve mixed water, turmeric, then few drops of maple extract and cocoa powder. Unfortunately after all those tests I only got yellow.

Spicy Stain / Teinture épicée


Toutefois, une fois une couche de gomme laque orangée appliquée, cette couleur pourrait servir à d’autres projets. J’espère que cette idée épicée pourra vous inspirer également.

However, once a coat of orange shellac has been applied, this color could be used for other projects. I hope this spicy idea could inspire you as well.

Spicy Stain / Teinture épicée


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

8 Responses to Spicy Stain / Teinture épicée

  1. Franz Bruyère says:

    Bonjour Serge
    Pour le curcuma, j’essayerais avec une base d’huile, genre huile de paraffine car elle est incolore.
    A voir… Franz Bruyère

  2. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, that was a good try. I’m surprised that the turmeric didn’t do the job. It would make for a healthy food safe finish otherwise. I hope you didn’t waste the leftover stain. It would make a healthy tonic, although I’m not sure about the maple extract. 🙂

    Cheers
    Mark

    • Serge says:

      Mark,
      The idea crossed my mind and I had to try it out. I wanted to share my test so anyone could try on their own to. It’s easy to make better ! 😉

      Best,
      Serge

  3. Lamarr says:

    Serge, did you try a slight amount of red or red umber with your turmeric yellow combination? Theoretically tou should get some shade of orange very near pumpkin by adjusting the ratio.

    • Serge says:

      Red, of course, but I didn’t have any, except dried out water color to which I added water to test it later when deluded. Thanks anyway.

      Best,

  4. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Te voilà transformé en apprenti sorcier !!!
    Le harry potter canadien !!

    Pourquoi ne pas tester le curry ?

    Qui ne tente rien n’a rien

    Ne fais pas exploser ton atelier avec tes mixtures!!
    Au plaisir

    • Serge says:

      Salut Jack,

      J’ai également pensé au curry mais la couleur me semblait inadéquate. Tel que suggéré par Franz, je vais essayer le curcuma avec de l’huile et j’en profiterai pour ajouter le curry.

      Quant aux sorcelleries, il faudra attendre le 31 octobre !!!

      Au plaisir…

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

