My Solution – A Spring Catch / Ma solution – Un crochet à ressort

Il y a quelques mois j’ai installé cette armoire murale horizontale verticalement dans mon atelier à cause de l’espace murale disponible.

Few months ago I’ve installed this horizontal wall cabinet vertically in my workshop because of the available wall space.

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


Une fois la porte inférieure ouverte, elle repose sur ce qu’il y a de disponible sur le comptoir, ici un pied ajustable de lampe, laissant ainsi mes deux mains libres pour y accéder et prendre ce que je veux.

Once the lower door opened, it rests on what’s available on the counter, here a lamp adjustable arm, therefore leaving both of my hands free to get in and grab what I need.

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


J’en ai assez de me battre avec la porte supérieure et devoir la retenir avec une main et tenter tant bien que mal de sortir ce que je veux de mon autre main. De là ma solution à ressort !

I have enough fighting with the upper door to keep it open with a hand while the other reaches to get what I want. Therefore my spring solution !

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


Je coupe tasseau à angle aigu, comme montré, sur lequel je fixe une abaisse de langue en bois. Des trous doivent être percés en premier dans l’abaisse langue !

I cutting a cleat at a steep angle, as shown, on which I attach a wooden tongue depressor. Holes must be drilled first in the depressor !

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


Pour ajuster l’emplacement du tasseau sur la solive du plafond j’ai dû faire une feuillure au banc de scie (essai & erreur).

To adjust the location of the cleat to the ceiling joist I had to cut a rabbet at the table saw (trial & error).

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


Maintenant, lorsque je soulève la porte le ‘ressort’ l’attrape au passage.

Now, when I flip up the door the ‘spring’ catches it on its way up.

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


Pour fermer la porte, je le presse et mes doigts captent la porte pour une fermeture en douceur.

To close the door, I depress it and my fingers catch the door for a soft close.

My Solution - A Spring Catch / Ma solution - Un crochet à ressort


Je dois avouer que cette idée m’ouvre bien des portes !

I must admit that this idea opens up more doors to me !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

12 Responses to My Solution – A Spring Catch / Ma solution – Un crochet à ressort

  1. Spence Bloom says:

    As “cute” as your tongue depressor idea is, I would use a chain and hook to hold the upper door up.

  2. Jean fortin says:

    😉

  3. luiessir says:

    ¡Ingenioso!

  4. Chris Wong says:

    Slick. I like it, Serge.

    Chris

  5. Keith says:

    You are a clever, inventive man, Serge.

    A number of years ago, I made a latch to hold my shed doors open so I could get my lawn mower out. http://www.askthebuilder.com/shed-door-latch-tip-2/

    • Serge says:

      You are such man too ! Your idea is as good as mine, for another kind of door and another situation. Great !
      Thanks for sharing.

      Best,

  6. Michael A. Langel says:

    Pretty slick. Good Idea!

  7. Boudreau May says:

    Serge you never cease to amaze me !

  8. rlm98253 says:

    Have you considered resetting the hinges so that the doors open horizontally?

    • Serge says:

      Yes, but there are finger pulls routed (coved) into the edge preventing from attaching the hinges. Thanks anyway.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

