Drill Press Bottom Stop / Butée de fond pour perceuse à colonne

Je suis de retour au tour à bois pour tourner un stylo. Une fois encore la pièce de bois, ici amarante solide et dur, glisse vers le fond sous la pression de la crémaillère. Cette fois-ci j’ai trouvé une solution très simple, laquelle je garde en mémoire pour mes autres étaux de cette perceuse, un bouchon synthétique (flèche) comme butée de fond, lequel est assez flexible pour ne pas devoir le tailler.

Aussi simple que cela, et à partager !

I’m back to the wood lathe turning a pen. Once again the pen blank, here hard and solid purple heart wood, creeps towards the bottom under the quill down pressure. This time I found a simple solution, which I will keep in mind when using my other drill press vises, a synthetic wine cork (arrow) as bottom stop which is soft enough so I don’t have to trim it down.

As simple as that, and to be shared !

Drill Press Bottom Stop / Butée de fond pour perceuse à colonne


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

10 Responses to Drill Press Bottom Stop / Butée de fond pour perceuse à colonne

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, another good reason to save those wine corks. The grape growers association should be sponsoring your site 🙂

    Cheers
    Mark

    • Serge says:

      Mark, I’ve been approached couple of times by stores to sponsor my site if I would highlight their products and I’ve also been offered to share articles. Each and every time I came back with the same answer : No, my site is dedicated to sharing my own woodworking experiences ! Coma. I see my site as volunteering, and as a volunteer, I’m free !

      Best,
      Serge

      • Mark Butler says:

        I thought you might say that Serge. I had a feeling that you are the kind of man that can’t be bought :).

        • Serge says:

          Well, depending the amount offered !!!!! LOL 🙂 🙂 🙂

          Best,
          Serge

          • Mark Butler says:

            Well then, if by some fate I ever meet you, I’ll buy you lunch and a bottle of wine and even let you keep the cork. In return, you will owe me a few good tips. 🙂

          • Serge says:

            You’re a big hearted man my friend ! My tips are free to pick up anyway ! 😉

  2. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Encore une belle utilisation des bouchons.
    Il faut bien penser à le ranger après usage car s’il faut ouvrir une nouvelle bouteille pour chaque nouveau crayon et forcément boire la bouteille ( ben oui le vin se dégrade vite !!) j’ai un peu peur du résultat final du stylo tourné …….

    Le bouchon peut aussi être utilisé coincé sous la petite arche qui sert d’anse sur les couvercles de certaines marmites

    Je ne peux joindre de photo c’est dommage

    Au plaisir et attention de ne pas trop forcer sur le vin !!!

    • Serge says:

      Salut Jack,

      J’aime bien ton idée du couvercle de marmite ! Quant à mes limites avec le vin, …

      Au plaisir…

  3. Not everything revolves around the almighty dollar. If you are lucky enough to get by without giving up your freedom and sanity then you are indeed lucky. You’d never get your stress level back if you had to use your skills for profit rather than pleasure. I appreciate your decision making Serge. Enjoy.

    • Serge says:

      Thank you Don. When I retired in 2004 I said to myself ‘I don’t work anymore’, meaning no working obligations. Since I’m always home I don’t spend much money, therefore I don’t need more money. I only volunteer, and as a volunteer I consider myself free because I can step back and come back home anytime. To stay free I don’t sell my projects. I rather give them away.
      Best,
      Serge

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

