Prevent From Loosing Small Parts / Prévenir la perte des petites pièces

Lorsque je dois défaire un outil pour changer un accessoire ou pour réparation ou ajustement, j’ai pris l’habitude de rassembler la quincaillerie d’assemblage du manufacturier autour d’un aimant pour ne pas perdre de pièces au cours du processus (la plupart des outils ont des vis hors norme).

Même si renversé par accident, tout reste assemblé. Simple et efficace !

When I must undo a tool to change an accessory or for a repair or adjustment, I’ve taken the habit of gathering the factory mounting hardware around a magnet so any part won’t get lost in the process (most tools have non standard screws).

Even if accidently turned upside down, everything stays put. Simple and effective !

Prevent From Loosing Small Parts / Prévenir la perte des petites pièces


Prevent From Loosing Small Parts / Prévenir la perte des petites pièces


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage!

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

6 Responses to Prevent From Loosing Small Parts / Prévenir la perte des petites pièces

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, I think I’m going to benefit from this tip more than anyone. I constantly loose nut and washers, especially when I’m working outside in my shed.

    Just last week I had some work to do on my lawn tractor and being very careful this time, I put all the nuts, bolts and washers in a small bucket. Within 2 minutes I managed to kick the bucket and 2 nuts and a washer disappeared, never to be found again.

    Thanks for a simple but very helpful tip.

    Mark

    • Serge says:

      Hi Mark,
      I’m glad you like the tip (at least one like it !!) 🙂
      I lost few so many times ! Talking about magnet, yesterday I received the 3/4″ rare earth magnets I ordered from LV. Those are amazing ! They’re so strong that it is difficult to take them apart, reason why they supply tricks to separate them. I’m sure that soon they’ll be handy in the shop.

      Best,
      Serge

      • Mark Butler says:

        I have a couple of 1 inch magnets and that’s what I intend to use next time. I have a large supply and I use them a lot but never thought about using them this way. That’s why I follow all your posts 🙂

  2. Len Richter says:

    Brass and copper and stainless are not magnetic .What now?

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

