Veneer Storage Box #1 Boîte de rangement pour placage

Je viens de couper quatre languettes de 1-1/2″ (3.8 cm) de largeur pour les quatre côtés de la boîte depuis une chute de contreplaqué de merisier 3/4″ (18 mm) d’épaisseur.

I just cut four 1-1/2″ (3.8 cm) wide strips for the four sides of the box from a 3/4″ (18 mm) birch plywood scrap.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


J’utilise mon plateau à tronçonner pour réaliser des feuillures aux extrémités de deux côtés. Ici je règle la hauteur de la lame de scie.

I’m using my crosscut sled to make rabbets at the end of two sides. Here I’m setting the saw blade height.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Pour l’uniformité, j’installer une butée en utilisant un côté comme jauge.

For uniformity, I’m setting a stop block using a side as a gauge.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Je fais toujours des tests pour peaufiner l’ajustement. Et ce n’est pas du temps perdu !

I always make tests to fine tune the setup. And this is not wasted time !

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Je réalise les feuillures par paires en plusieurs passes.

I mill the rabbets in pairs in several passes.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Qu’en dites-vous ?

How about that ?

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Pour garantir l’équerrage de ces pièces étroites, j’ai sorti ma table d’assemblage.

To ensure squareness of such narrow pieces, I brought out my assembly table.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Pendant le séchage, je coupe le dessus et le dessous de la boîte à la scie radiale. Le matériau est du MDF 1/4″ (6 mm) d’épaisseur.

While drying, I’m cutting the top and the bottom of the box at the radial arm saw. The material is 1/4″ (6 mm) MDF.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Vu la limite de ma scie, je fais une première coupe, s’installe cette butée, je fais la rotation du MDF et termine la coupe.

Because of the limit of my saw, I make a first cut, set this stop, flip the MDF over and finish the cut.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Le cadre sec, je l’utilise pour régler le guide parallèle pour couper les deux pièces de MDF en largeur.

The frame dry, I’m using it to set the rip fence to cut the two MDF pieces to width.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Je viens d’avoir l’idée d’ajouter un séparateur. Puisqu’il n’est pas trop tard, je réalise les rainures peu profondes à la scie radiale, tel que montré, une fois encore me guidant avec une butée.

I just had the idea of adding a partition. Since it’s not too late, I make the shallow dadoes at the radial arm saw, as shown, once again using a stop block as a guide.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


J’ai coupé le séparateur, lequel je vais finir une fois la boîte assemblée.

I’ve cut the partition, which I will complete once the box is assembled.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Je ponce les coins pour m’assurer qu’ils sont parfaitement plats.

I’m sanding the corners to make sure they are perfectly flat.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


La colle étendue, je vais fixer les deux MDF avec quelques clous sans tête, juste pour prévenir les glissements. La colle fera le travail !

The glue spread out, I will secure the two MDF with only few pin nails, just to prevent slippage. The glue will do the job !

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


Un coté installé, je nettoie l’excès de colle avec une paille de plastique. Une fois la boîte fermée, je devrai vivre avec l’excès du deuxième collage.

One side installed, I’m cleaning the excess glue with a plastic straw. Once the box closed, I will have to live with the second glue-up squeeze out.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


J’ai surélevé l’ensemble collage sur ces blocs pour les pinces à ressort et je laisse sécher toute la nuit.

I raised the assembly on those blocks for the spring clamps and I let it dry overnight.

Veneer Storage Box / Boîte de rangement pour placage


À suivre…

Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite pour être avisé.

To continue…

Register free at the upper right to be notified.


 

4 Responses to Veneer Storage Box #1 Boîte de rangement pour placage

  1. Benny Delvaux says:

    Dear bricolleur,

    I have been a follower of your blog for a while now. You have given me lots of good ideas and many good trics and tips!!
    Today while watching part one of the veneer box I noticed your dust collecting system is made of plastic piping. How have you earthed the piping to avoid static electricity?
    I want to do the same in my own shop and ofcourse, safety first!
    Please continue your awesome blog.

    • Serge says:

      Benny, Thank you for your kind words.
      I have books and I read and heard a lot about dust collection systems to find out that in a home workshop, where the dust collector is used on short time basis, there is no need to ground plastic pipes. My system has been running for more than a decade and it’s doing fine and I never encountered static issues. Of course at the beginning I purchased copper braded wire to wrap the pipes with, but after what I’ve learned I didn’t bother wasting time and energy to get it one.
      Therefore, my best advice would be: Gather information, make your own decision, and most of all, follow your feelings !

      Best,

  2. Eric R says:

    Very nicely done my friend.
    Taking time to do test cuts and sets up is the best policy.
    Your veneer box will be very useful in a wonderful shop.
    best

    • Serge says:

      Thank you Eric. As they say, test twice and cut once ??? 🙂 🙂
      I can’t wait to fill it up. I already applied three coats of shellac and three coats of wipe-on poly still have to be applied before I enjoy filling it.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

