Sealing Finish Jars / Sceller les pots de finition

Pour en finir de me battre à ouvrir les couvercles de mes pots de finition à l’eau, j’insère deux couches de n’importe quel sac de plastique sur le pot avant de refermer le couvercle lors du rangement. Plus tard, même si une (ou deux) couche de plastique adhère soit au couvercle ou sur le pot, je peux dévisser le couvercle sans effort, les deux étages de plastique glissant l’une sur l’autre. Cela fonctionne même avec les contenants du commerce si vous utilisez des sacs de plastique plus minces.

To end fighting with my water-based finish jar lids to open, I insert two layers of any plastic bag on the jar before getting the lid on for storage. Later, even if one (or two) plastic layer sticks on either the lid or the jar, I’m be able to unscrew the lid effortlessly, the two plastic layers gliding on each other. It also works on store-bought finish cans if you use thinner plastic bags.

Sealing Finish Jars / Sceller les pots de finition


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Soyez toujours prudent et bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Always be careful and Happy Woodworking !


 

18 Responses to Sealing Finish Jars / Sceller les pots de finition

  1. luiessir says:

    Buenos días:
    Muy buena idea, otra opción (si los tarros cierran bien) es ponerlos boca abajo, el líquido impide totalmente la entrada de aire.
    Good morning:
    Very good idea, another option (if the jars close well) is mouth to put them below(down), the liquid prevents totally the air inlet.

  2. lolotte79 says:

    merci pour l’ astuce bon dimanche

  3. Langlaude says:

    Brillant!

  4. Good idea Serge. Once the lid/jar are contaminated it is nearly impossible to free the lid. Older hands complicate the situation. Have a good day my friend.

  5. Rebou Chage says:

    This also works on tubes of decorators filler/silicon sealant etc. Wash out the nozzle when you have finished, then do exactly the same as you have done for the jars, two layers of a piece of plastic bag. I have been doing it this way now for about twenty years.

  6. George Fouriezos says:

    Monsieur D., you consistently improve my shop life. Thank you for this.

  7. Mark Butler says:

    Great tip Serge. Now I can go back to saving sealer in jars. I had given up on this years ago, even before I had old hands like Don!

    Mark

  8. Christian says:

    Bonjour des Italia. I read everytime with so much interst your post! This time i hope It is my turn to give you a tip. Upside down jars works well unless the seal is not perfect and it ends in a mess! I can suggest to use vacuum bags, the cheap one you can find to seal undervacuum clothes, covers and so on. It works perfectly because it removes completely the air and lets you to leave the paints even for years. I sell resin and silicon professionally and that little trick works incredible well. hope to have helped you or any other of your other followers. Cya soon and thx again for sharing your knowledge!
    Christian

    • Thank you Christian. Like many others, I do like to learn new tips as yours, particularly the vacuum bags. I hope they are readily available in my area.

      Best,
      Serge

  9. luiessir says:

    Después de ver tanta participación, no puedo dejar de pensar en lo hermosa herramienta que es Internet.
    After seeing so much participation, I can not stop thinking about how beautiful tool that is the Internet..

    • I fully agree Luiessir. I knew I was dumb, but with the Internet I realized that I’m not the only one on this planet !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Internet offers endless possibilities to learn more.

      Serge

  10. Eric R says:

    I’ve used wax paper with similar beneficial effects Serge.
    My arthritis makes it hard for me to use the force I once had.
    Any help making jars easier to open is welcomed.
    Thank you my friend.

    • Wax paper is a good idea too. One or two layers ? I believe cereal box inner bag would work as well and be quite strong too. I’ll give both a try.
      Thank you my friend.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

