Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves

Au lieu d’utiliser une serre-joint pour temporairement fixer le guide, il est beaucoup plus simple et rapide d’utiliser mon peigne maison qui se bloque dans la rainure de la scie.

Instead of using a clamp to temporarily secure the fence, is it much quicker and easier to use my homemade featherboard that locks in the saw slot.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Une autre façon toute aussi facile est un bloc de bois et mon attache maison pour gabarits.

Another simple way is to use a block of wood and my homemade jig fastener.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Tel que montré, je vais expérimenter une coupe avec une lame de scie à 80 dents, laquelle je crois devrait faire une coupe plus fine, donc moins de ponçage ultérieur.

As shown, I will experiment a cut with 80 teeth saw blade, which I believe should make a finer cut, therefore less further sanding.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Je déclare que je préfère utiliser le peigne autobloquant qui me permet le localiser la pression directement derrière la lame de scie.

I proclaim that I rather use the self-locking feather which allows me to locate the back pressure right behind the saw blade.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Regardez de près !

Si vous comparez avec mon article précédent, vous constaterez que cette coupe est plus fine avec cette lame de 80 dents que celle produite avec la lame de 40 dents de ma première tentative.

Take a closer look !

If you compare with my previous post, you will notice that this cut is finer using this 80 teeth blade than the one produced by the 40 teeth blade I used in my first attempt .

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Maintenant le test ultime avec mon ensemble à moulurer muni de couteaux à cannelures 1″ (25 mm).

Now the ultimate test using my molding head outfitted with 1″ (25 mm) fluting cutters.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Vous avez peut-être constaté j’ai une plaque dédiée pour cet ensemble à moulurer.

You may noticed that I have a dedicated insert for this molding head kit.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Une fois encore, jetez un œil de près pour réaliser que le résultat, n’étant pas parfait, est encore plus fin, donc encore moins de ponçage sera requis.

Once again, take a closer look to realized that the result, being not perfect, is much finer, therefore much less sanding to be done.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Une autre amélioration, soit la coupe d’un unique chanfrein (flèche) le long du guide afin que la poussière puisse s’y échapper.

Another improvement, which milling a single chamfer (arrow) along the fence for the dust to escape.

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Finalement, j’ai percé un trou au travers pour y insérer un boulon de carrosserie et j’ai fixé l’ensemble avec un écrou à ailettes (flèche blanche 1) pour l’accrocher à un clou au mur ou sur une solive du plafond (flèche noire 2).

Finally, I drilled a through hole for a carriage bolt and I secured the assembly with a wing-nut (white arrow 1) to hang it onto a nail on a wall or ceiling joist (black arrow 2).

Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves


Je peux maintenant imaginer une petite armoire avec une belle moulure concave tout en haut, de la même essence de bois que l’armoire elle-même, juste au-dessous d’une tablette en porte-à-faux du dessus !

From now I can picture a small cabinet with a nice cove molding at the top made out of the same wood species as the cabinet, right under a protruding top shelf !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage!

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

8 Responses to Experimenting my Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig / Expérimenter mon gabarit pour moulures concaves

  1. Alain says:

    Avez-vous connaissance de ce tableau interactif ?:
    Do you know about this cove cutting table calculator ?:
    http://woodgears.ca/cove/calculate.html

    Salutations & best regrads,

    Alain.

  2. bruce says:

    The slower and shallower your final cut plus some additional feather boards to hold it down will really get a smooth cut.
    It really gives a project a touch of class when the trim matches the main case lumber.
    Some store bought trim may be fancier but it just doesn’t add that touch of hand made craftsmanship.
    Another great tips and how to!!!

    • Bruce, I have in mind to build some kind of roller-featherboards to keep the work flat on the table saw, just above the saw blade. I like the self-sufficiency side of milling my own moldings.

      Best,

  3. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, that was a good idea trying your molding head. Once again that is something I would not have thought about.

    But I guess it make sense to use a molding head since you are making molding. 🙂

  4. Bill Clark says:

    Bill Clark here, as you know I am a huge fan of your posts. I was wondering if you could do a post showing how to cut and make a 5 point wooden star.. I know your method would be safer and more efficient than some I saw … Thank you and keep the faith.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

