Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots

Ces derniers jours je me suis amusé à remplir cette section de mon armoire à outils manuels.

For the last couple of days I had fun filling this section of my hand tool cabinet.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Cette vis étant trop courte, je vais faire un lamage pour caler la tête.

This screw being too short, I will counterbore to recess the head.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


J’ajuste ma butée improvisée de perceuse à colonne et je procède avec une fraise Forstner.

I’m setting my improvised drill press depth stop and I proceed with a Forstner bit.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Ensuite viennent les trous pour le corps des vis.

Then the holes for the body of the screws.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Pas assez profonds ! Au lieu de perdre du temps avec la butée, je vais déposer ma pièce sur ces charnières de 1/16″ (2 mm), ce qui sera rapide et tout aussi efficace.

Not deep enough ! Instead of fussing with the depth stop, I will drop the workpiece on those 1/16″ (2 mm) hinges, what will be quick and as effective.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


La tablette installée à la hauteur voulue sur des piliers, je poinçonne pour les trous de vis.

The shelf installed on pilasters to the height I want, I’m punching for the screw holes.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Compte tenu que je ne veux pas coller les capuchons de bois, je les insère sur un morceau de chiffon pour les coincer, lequel je coupe l’excédent avec un lame à rasoir.

Because I don’t want to glue the wooden buns, I slip a cloth under to lock them in, which I will cut the excess with a razor blade.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Ni vu ni connu !

Who would know !

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Un petit support pour un petit rabot.

A small holder of a small plane.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Ici j’utilise un chute sous la tablette supérieure pour installer celle-ci parallèle.

I’m using a scrap tucked under the upper shelf to install this one parallel.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Une autre installation pour une autre tablette.

Another setup for another shelf.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Deux coupes au banc de scie pour réaliser la base d’un léger support pour ma collection de mini-rabots. N’ayant pas de goujons (tourillons) en noyer, j’ai fabriqué des bâtonnets carrés pour les trous ronds. Un petit projet qui prends toutefois assez de temps !

Two cuts at the table saw to make a light base for my collection of tiny hand planes. Lacking of walnut dowels, I milled square pegs for the round holes. A small project that however takes a while !

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Une couche de gomme laque, et un trou pour le fixer sur la tablette.

One coat of shellac, and a hole to secure it on the shelf.

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


Une autre étape de réalisée, et je suis très satisfait du résultat.

Avez-vous remarqué que j’ai utilisé des boutons de bois pour supporter les vastringues supérieures ?

Another step is done, and I’m very satisfied with the result.

Did you noticed that I used wooden knobs to hold the upper spokeshaves ?

Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots


On dirait un coffre à bijoux, n’est-ce pas ?

It looks like a jewelry case, don’t you think ?


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage!

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

22 Responses to Plain Storage (pun intended) / Ranger mes rabots

  1. Boudreau May says:

    Beeeautiful !

  2. Guy says:

    Salut Serge, On reconnait le «créatif» en toi, à chacun de tes projets; bravo ! Dis-donc Serge, mon prof de «Travaux manuel» (jadis), nous disait toujours de ne jamais placer nos rabots avec la semelle à plat sur nos établis car il disait qu’on pouvait abimer l’affutage de la lame. Est-ce que ce conseil était farfelu ? Je suppose qu’on bon bricoleur rentre toujours ses lames dans ses outils… je me trompe ? Salut mon Serge ! Guy

    • Salut Guy, Ton prof avait raison, il y a risque pour la tranche. Et si déposé sur le côté, il y a un risque pour les doigts ! Si tu jettes un œil observateur sur la dernière photo, tu pourras constater que les semelles ne sont pas assises sur toute leur surface, la partie avant étant surélevée. Raison ? Voir cet article précédent de 2011.
      Comme tu pourras le constater, le corps est fatigué, mais l’esprit est encore alerte !! 🙂

      Au plaisir…

      Serge

    • Thank you Michael. It was worth it to invest some time on it. I’m very happy with the results. More to be stored in it though (think more work to invest).

      Best,

  3. Mark Butler says:

    Good description Serge. It looks better than a jewelry case. Reminds me of something you would see on the cover of a Lee Valley catalog. I’m envious :).

    Mark

  4. Indeed! Nicely balanced as well as for your storage Serge. Neat and tidy.

  5. hgordon4 says:

    Very nice. I’ve been looking at using anti-rust/corrosion liners for my cabinet drawers and shelves. This stuff is available at both Amazon.com and Lee Valley: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00150H0FW?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_sfl_title_3&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER
    You might find it worthwhile since you have an enclosed cabinet with all those items you definitely don’t want rusting.

  6. Morgan says:

    Everything is perfect except the surfoam…. that belongs with the rasps and files…hehe. On a serious note, I do worry about the piano hinge with this much weight over time. I did a cabinet like this 7 years ago, and it has moved… grrr.

    • Morgan, How about the setup blocks down below ? Oh yes, they belong with rulers, squares, compass and others drawing tools ! That was a mistake too, and I already used that space for my homemade flush-cut plane.

      Now, about the piano hinge : If they move, they should move downwards, right (think gravity) ? Since with age I shorten, that will be great, don’t you think ? Yeah ! 🙂 Thanks for the advice anyway. Now that it’s done…

      Best,

      • Morgan says:

        Serge,
        My piano hinge sagged so the outside corner is lower than the corner close to the hinge. The metal is thin, and it has deformed with weight…. grrrr. It seems to be the swing where it is 90 degrees from the cabinet that causes this. Constant open and close and flexes and bends… I hope yours are better than mine!!

        • Morgan,
          I agree, when the doors are open at 90° this is when the hinges get most stress, reason why I keep them close most of the time. Another aspect I’m considering is hanging the most heavy tools close to the hinges and keep the light stuff for the further edge. For the same reason, the width of the doors was also taken into consideration when I designed my cabinets. Only time will tell if my hinges are better than yours. And I hope I won’t live that long !! 😉

          Best,

  7. topudd says:

    I Enjoy your posts partly because I am trying to improve my French. The phrase ” Ni vu ni connu ” is translated as “who would say”.I think a more accurate translation is “who would know” or the more literal”neither known or seen” What do you think?

  8. Eric R says:

    Spectacular !

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

