Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide

Parce que mon atelier de sous-sol est souvent en réorganisation, j’ai décidé il y a quelques années de fixer les luminaires fluorescents sur des planches au lieu de directement sous les solives du plafond, ce qui en facilite grandement le déplacement.

Because my basement workshop is often reorganized, few years ago I decided to secure the fluorescent light fixtures to a board instead of under ceiling joists, what greatly facilitate the moves.

Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide


Parce que je travaille seul, j’ai développé cette technique de fils d’acier il y a des années et ils m’ont été plusieurs fois utiles (pensez tuyaux de PVC pour aspiration).

Tel que montré, je plie deux fils d’acier rigides et je forme un crochet aux extrémités.

Because I’m working alone, I developed this steel wire technique years ago and they have been handy many times (think dust collection PVC pipes).

As shown, I bend two rigid steel wire and at each end I form a hook.

Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide


Je pends et j’accroche les fils aux tasseaux sur lesquels je compte visser les luminaires (ou autres).

I hand and I hook the wires on the cleats on which I will screw the light fixtures (or something else).

Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide


Ensuite je glisse chaque extrémité du luminaire dans chaque boucle.

Then I slip each end of the light fixture in each loop.

Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide


Ainsi, il m’est facile de visser chaque extrémité de la planche (flèche) dans les tasseaux.

Thus, it is easy for me to screw each end of the board (arrow) in the cleats.

Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide


Je peux les installer où je veux, et seul !

I can install them where I want, alone !

Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


4 Responses to Hanging from the Ceiling Alone / Pendre du plafond sans aide

  1. Morgan says:

    3rd hand man! Don’t we all wish for an extra at times. I use a Velcro strap or bungee cords for most of my needs but your wire is good!

    • Hi Morgan. Using Velcro strap is a good idea ! I wonder how much weight they can hold. I rather use the bungee cords. Thank you for sharing your way.

      Best,

      PS: Still flying to Chris’ wedding tomorrow ? If so, enjoy each moment.

  2. Kelly Brown says:

    This is great! Much easier than what I’ve done in the past. Also, I just reorganized my basement workshop and put off putting in the lights because last time it was such a big project.

    My old fluorescent light also has a “cage” over it. This was a wire grid made of cast off wire shelving that I had but you could use chicken wire as well. The new one is not fluorescent, but LED (it was $35 at costco, so too expensive) so there’s not worry about bulbs breaking and I don’t need a cage. I’m always concerned about toxicity if I break a fluorescent bulb.

    Thank you!!!

    • Kelly, I’m glad about the timing and you’ll be glad to get back to the shop to finally install your new LED lights. As far as Iknow, you’ll be happy to have much more light from them. They last forever (about) and the don’t suck much electricity.

      Thank you for your input.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

