Wine Tote #2 Caddy pour bouteille de vin

Je mesure la distance entre les deux montants pour fabriquer une poignée de transport.

I’m taking the distance between the two uprights to manufacture a carrying handle.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Je trace cette chute en évitant ce gros défaut.

I trace scrap avoiding that huge void.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Après la scie à ruban, la table à toupie (défonceuse) pour arrondir les bords.

After the band saw, the router table to round over the edges.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Une fois la colle étendue, j’utilise une règle pour aligner la poignée à l’œil à la verticale, et j’enfonce deux minces clous sans tête calibre 23 de chaque côté pour éviter de la fendre.

Once the glue spread, I’m using a ruler to eyeball the handle vertically, and I drive two thin 23 gauge pin nails on each side to prevent it from splitting.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


J’aime bien car je crois que la courbe rend hommage aux courbes des montants.

I like it since I believe it compliments the curves of the uprights.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Pour le fond, j’utilise la pièce que j’avais mise de côté au tout début.

For the bottom, I’m using the piece I put aside at the very beginning.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Pour peaufiner le coin indiqué par la flèche, j’insère une carte de jeu afin de pivoter ma pièce que légèrement.

To fine tune the corner shown by the arrow, I slip a playing card to pivot the workpiece very slightly.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Comme un gant !

Like a glove !

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


J’ai installé un guide martyr sur le guide parallèle du banc de scie et je l’ajuste, ainsi que la hauteur de la lame, pour réaliser une toute petite feuillure tout autour de la base.

I’ve installed a sacrificial fence to the table saw rip fence and I set it, as well as the height of the blade, to mill a very tiny rabbet along the perimeter of the bottom.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


J’étends la colle uniquement sur ces deux côtés opposés et ainsi éviter les bavures à l’extérieur.

I spread glue on those two opposite sides only thus prevent squeeze out on the outside.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Les feuillures, même petites, font toute une différence, n’est-ce pas ? J’appelle cela du raffinement.

The rabbets, even so tiny, make a huge difference, don’t you think ? I call that refinement.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


J’utilise ici une règle de métal pour enlever les bavures de colle au fond.

Here I’m using a steel ruler to remove squeezed out glue at the bottom.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Terminé. Je le laisse tranquille le temps que la colle sèche.

Finished. I’m leaving it alone while the glue dries.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Une couche d’huile danoise fait ressortir la personnalité de ce bois.

One coat of Danish oil emphases the personality of this wood.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Et le voici après trois couches de gomme laque et un polissage avec ma technique du papier brun.

And here it is after three coats of shellac and a buffing with my brown paper technique.

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Avant, après, ou vise versa !

Before, after, or vise versa !

Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Wine Tote / Caddy pour bouteille de vin


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


10 Responses to Wine Tote #2 Caddy pour bouteille de vin

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Serge,this turned out very nice. I like the spalt wood and the oil really makes it “pop”. Nice design on the handle too.

    Mark

  2. Bill B. says:

    Good Day Serge,
    Yet another great project, that is shared with your viewing public.

    Well done.
    Regards,
    Bill B.

  3. Eric R says:

    Beautiful work Serge.
    It looks like a piece of art !
    Are there any high-end wine merchants near by that might want some of those to package their more expensive wines in ?
    After word has spread of that nice menu holding easel you made for that restaurant, your work may become something that every smart shop owner desires…
    Good job my friend!

    • Thank you Eric. “A piece of art ?”, yes, humbly, I believe you’re right. And it will be unique.
      If I ever make another wine tote, it will be as a gift, as I did for the easel. Since I retired 11 years ago I decided I wouldn’t work anymore. I volunteer at my local library to teach Internet to elder people, as well as write a free blog to woodworkers who may be able to get or learn something. However, thank you for the idea about the high-end wine merchants, what I didn’t think of.
      All the best my friend !

  4. Pehelle says:

    Beau petit projet, raffiné comme tu les aimes !
    Le bijou à son écrin. Les montants de cette petite caisse ont déjà la forme d’une bouteille (traditionnellement, de Bourgogne) et la poignée a du style, rappelant un dossier de chaise. Beau travail, Serge ! 😉

    • Salut jeune homme,
      Merci pour tes compliments. En effet, la forme des montants rappelle les bouteilles de Bourgogne, ce pourquoi j’ai hésité avant de procéder. Je ne pouvais pas me restreindre à une coupe en diagonale. L’inspiration du moment, quoi !
      Au plaisir, cher ami, d’avoir de tes nouvelles (re: octobre).
      Serge

  5. Kevin says:

    Hello Serge,

    You do beautiful work. I have used many of your shop jigs and I can tell you put much thought in all of your designs. Please tell me the type of wood you used on this project, it is perfect for the wine carrier.

    Kevin

    • Kevin, the wood I used is the one get from trees ! (just kidding). Frankly, I don’t know. I got his one from a pallet. If I were you, I would use any wood and put all my heart building it and for sure I would get a lovely wine carrier !

      Serge

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

