Band Saw Low-profile Fence / Guide à profile bas pour scie à ruban

Pour travailler de façon sécuritaire à la scie à ruban, il faut que le capot et les guides lames soient le plus près possible de la pièce à couper. Trop souvent les vis à violon et guides lames empêchent le capot de descendre assez bas.

Pour déborder, j’ajoute un guide auxiliaire, tel que celui-ci un en aluminium, mais qui peut être toute pièce rectiligne et parallèle bien assujettie. On peut tout aussi bien fabriquer un guide en L comme “celui-ci” pour fixer sur le guide de la scie à ruban.

Ça prend quelques secondes à installer et ça peut sauver des doigts !

To work safety at the band saw, the guard and the blade guards must be as close as possible to the workpiece. Too often wing-nuts and blade guards prevent from the guard to plunge down enough.

To work around I like to add an auxiliary fence, such as this aluminum guide clamp, but any secured straight and parallel piece will do. One can also make an L-guide such as “this one” to secure on the band saw fence.

It takes only seconds to install and it can save your fingers !

Band Saw Low-profile Fence / Guide à profile bas pour scie à ruban

Band Saw Low-profile Fence / Guide à profile bas pour scie à ruban


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


4 Responses to Band Saw Low-profile Fence / Guide à profile bas pour scie à ruban

  1. Chris Wong says:

    Salut Serge,

    This is a great solution; I figured it out for myself a few months ago.

    Chris

    • Salut Chris,

      It has been proven many times, there’s always a solution. It’s a matter of taking the time to think about it !

      Serge

      • Mark Butler says:

        Serge, when I was a young boy I got frustrated and angry because I could not fix something on my bike. My father told me to stop and think about what you are doing before you do it. He said if you have the will you will find a way. This has stuck with me all my life.

        However, I guess I didn’t have enough will when it comes to my band saw fence because I never stopped to think about it. So thanks for thinking for me. This is a great solution.

        Mark

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

