Universal Fence Stop – Revisited / Butée universelle – revisitée

Après avoir manipulé ma nouvelle butée, j’ai trouvé des améliorations à y apporter.

After manipulating my new stop I found few aspects to improve it.


Je vais arrondir la pointe indiquée (flèche 1) et élargir le côté indiqué de la rainure en V (flèche 2).

I will round over the shown tip (arrow 1) and widen the shown side of the V groove (arrow 2).

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


Ma ponceuse à disque maison a fait le travail en un rien de temps.

My homemade disc sander did the job in no time

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


Pour la rainure, j’ai utilisé une râpe.

For the groove, I used a rasp.

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


Pour aider le pivot, je fraise le côté opposé de la rainure.

For ease the pivot, I chamfer the opposite side of the groove.

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


J’ai replacé le papier abrasif et la photo montre la prise plus large, ce qui est beaucoup plus efficace qu’uniquement le bord. Ici la butée est installée sur le guide le plus mince.

I put back the sandpaper and the photo shows the wider or fatter grip, what is much effective than the very edge. Here the stop is installed on the thinner fence.

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


La rondelle couvre parfaitement le fraisage.

The washer perfectly covers up the chamfer.

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


Sur ce guide plus épais, la prise est également améliorée.

On this fatter fence, the grip is also improved.

Universal Fence Stop - Revisited / Butée universelle - revisitée


Il y a toujours place à amélioration !

There’s always room for improvement !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


6 Responses to Universal Fence Stop – Revisited / Butée universelle – revisitée

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, the great thing about people like you who share their achievements is that we also learn about the improvements. I like what you designed, especially the addition of the spring.

    By the way, I finally started to make your flush cut plane 2 days ago when my dust collector stopped blowing dust into the woods. Turned out the start capacitor burned out but got it repaired and got to spend some time today on the plane. I hope to finish it tomorrow and put it to work on a project I’m way behind on. Thanks again for sharing your expertise.

    Mark

    • Mark, it looks like bugs and birds will have a break from the dust blown away from you shop !!

      Good luck with the flush plane and please send me a picture when done.

      Serge

  2. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, the dust is flying again so I finished the plane this afternoon. I’ll send you some pictures. I never would have thought about making one of these and even if I did it wouldn’t have been as easy as yours was. Thanks for your help.
    Mark

    • Mark, in my next life I don’t want to be a tree or living of the woods in NB ! 🙂 Knowing someone will duplicate a project is the reward for sharing on this blog.

      Serge

  3. Gilles says:

    Serge votre épouse vous voit souvent ?

    • Gilles, ce n’est qu’une illusion ! Je ne passe en moyenne qu’environ deux heures par jour dans mon atelier. Le syndrome de fatigue chronique qui m’accable depuis environ 15 ans m’empêche d’y passer plus de temps. Toutefois, même immobile, ma tête continue à travailler (si on peut appeler cela un travail) et à fructifier. J’ai retenu que l’oisiveté est la mère de la créativité ! Cette phrase aide à se sentir moins coupable et non productif ! Et dire qu’avant de prendre ma retraite je prévoyais passer dix heures par jour dans mon atelier. Étant limité en temps d’atelier, je crois que c’est la raison pour laquelle j’ai tant d’outils afin que chacun d’eux soit toujours près à l’emploi.

      Donc, c’est mon atelier qui est à plaindre !!! 🙂

      Au plaisir…

      PS: C’est fou le nombre de croquis de projets qui gîtent partout dans la maison !! 🙂

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

