Hand Tool Wall Cabinet #10 Armoire murale pour outils manuels

Pour l’étape suivante, j’ai besoin de mon banc de scie. Donc, un autre déménagement s’impose.

For the next step, I need my table saw. Hence, another move is required.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Je change ma précieuse lame de finition pour une lame à coupe combinée.

I swap my precious finishing blade for a combination blade.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Je dois couper ce contreplaqué 3/4″ (18 mm) de 48″ par 24″ (1.2 m par 61 cm) à l’endroit indiqué par le crayon. Par mesure de sécurité, il n’est pas recommandé ici d’utiliser le guide parallèle. La partie de gauche excède la capacité d’écart du guide parallèle et je ne peux y appuyer celle de droite car elle est trop étroite, ce qui représenterait le risque d’un dangereux retour.

I must cut this 48″ by 24″ (1.2 m par 61 cm) 3/4″ (18 mm) plywood where indicated by the pencil. For safety, here it is not recommended to use the rip fence. The left part exceed the rip fence capacity and I can’t lean the right part against it because it is too narrow, what will represent the risk for a hazardous kickback.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Bien que le plateau de mon coupe panneau maison ne fasse que 32″ par 18″ (81 cm par 46 cm), il est tout à fait approprié, sécuritaire et efficace. Si vous n’en possédez pas un, c’est à considérer !

Even if my homemade panel cutter base is only 32″ by 18″ (81 cm by 46 cm), it is undoubtedly appropriate, safe and effective. If you don’t own one, it is to be considered !

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Je refends des lattes de 6″ (15 cm) de largeur dans le sens respectif de leur position montrée. Les longues sont à leur longueur final et les petites seront coupées ultérieurement pour être fixés derrière les caissons.

I rip 6″ wide (15 cm) strips according to their shown respective positions. The long ones are cut to their final length and the short one will be cut later to be attached behind the casings.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


J’ai également besoin d’une longe latte pour fixer sur le mur. Je suis un bricoleur chanceux car je peux couper ce contreplaqué de 98″ (2.50 m) directement sur la banc de scie.

I also need a long strip to attach to the wall. I’m a lucky woodworker since I can cut this 98″ (2.50 m) long directly on the table saw.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Toute mon attention est portée sur cette ligne. Le contreplaqué doit toujours rester en contact avec le guide parallèle sur toute sa longueur.

All my attention is focussed on this line. The plywood must always stay in contact with the rip fence along its entire length.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Pour refendre une telle longueur je dois toutefois temporairement retirer le guide de ma table à toupie (défonceuse). J’ai l’avantage d’avoir un autre établi mural juste derrière.

However, to rip such long board I must temporarily remove my router table fence. I’m fortunate enough to have another wall bench just behind.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


J’ai changé de plaque (rouge) afin d’incliner la lame de scie à 45°.

I swapped insert (red) to tilt the saw blade to 45°.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


J’utilise cette bride de retenue maison pour tracer le centre et contourner l’arête.

I’m using this homemade clamping device to trace the center around the edge.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Et maintenant une ligne à 45° qui croise le centre.

And now a 45° line that crosses the center.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


J’ajuste le guide parallèle, maintenant du côté gauche de la lame, pour aligner le centre de la lame de scie avec la ligne oblique.

I set the rip fence, now on the left side of the saw blade, to align the saw blade center with the oblique line.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Je me sens plus confortable avec un peigne, du côté droit.

I feel more comfortable with a featherboard, on the right side.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Les pièces paraissent inégales, mais elles sont identiques.

The pieces seem unequal, but they are identical.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Pour refendre la longue latte, qui arc un peu, j’ajoute un peigne au-dessus. Je ne veux surtout pas appliquer de pression avec la main près de cette lame inclinée sur cette latte si étroite !

To tip the long strip, which arcs a bit, I’m adding a featherboard from above. I certainly don’t want to apply hand pressure close to that tilted saw blade on such narrow strip !

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


J’ai toutes mes lattes, et uniquement celles des petits caissons doivent être coupées en longueur.

I have all my strips, and only the ones for the small casings need to be cut to length.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Je n’aime pas du tout cette arête tranchante.

I don’t like this sharp edge.

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Après un essai, j’enlève 1/8″ (3 mm).

After a test, I remove 1/8″ (3 mm).

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


Beaucoup mieux et plus sécuritaire !

Much better and safer !

Hand Tool Wall Cabinet / Armoire murale pour outils manuels


À suivre…

Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite pour être avisé.

To continue…

Register free at the upper right to be notified.


10 Responses to Hand Tool Wall Cabinet #10 Armoire murale pour outils manuels

  1. Steve Romanowski says:

    get rid of the boards on the background, impossible to read the text, this latest site is useless ! ! !

    • Thank you Steve. This site being useless, now I have a reason to end posting.

      However, I’d be more than happy to get the feeling of such background from more other readers though.

      Sincerely,

      Serge

  2. Ron Lentz says:

    When I first open your site on my iPad, the text is on the board background, but within a few seconds, the white background for the photos and text comes up. Then it is easy to read. Maybe Steve has a device that doesn’t support your format.

  3. John Kaplonski says:

    I think your site is very good, especially the hints.

  4. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Le “dossier” avance
    J’ai hâte de voir le tout fixé au mur avec une belle photo mettant le tout en valeur

    Dans un prochain post …

    Au plaisir

    • Salut Jack,

      J’ai bien plus hâte que toi de voir le tout fixé au mur. Je suis très/trop fatigué ces temps-ci, ce qui m’empêche de m’y investir autant que je voudrais. Par contre, mon esprit étant toujours actif, je pense déjà au prochain projet, un chevalet de peintre. Ensuite je devrais continuer mon armoire en pin, laquelle j’ai commencée il y assez/trop longtemps.

      Quant au présent projet, les plus belles photos seront affichées pas mal plus tard, celles montrant les armoires finies à l’huile. Toutefois, aussitôt terminées, je vais publier les photos au bois nu.

      Au plaisir…

  5. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, I am enjoying your project very much. You have put a lot of details on the posts which have been very helpful. I know showing all this detail and photographing each step takes a lot of your time and I want you to know how much I appreciate it.

    You have convinced me that I must make your panel sled before I cut another piece of plywood on my saw. I can’t believe you cut that large case on your table saw. You are much braver than me!

    Regarding your wood background, I use 3 different PC’s and have never had a problem with the background. I’m looking forward to seeing photos of your cabinets hanging on your wall full of tools.
    Mark

    • Mark, thank you for your kind words.

      I’m happy to decided to build a panel cutter. Believe, you won’t regret. However, take the time to build it right and precise ! 🙂

      Finally, thank you for confirming that the display of my site is respectful on your digital devices.

      Serge

      PS: The day you will se the cabinets full of tools is not in sight ! I have to design and manufacture all holding devices. And the cabinets should take days to dry in my basement environment.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

