Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique

Ce disque de contreplaqué de 5/8″ est le premier cercle que j’ai coupé avec le gabarit coupe-cercle que j’ai fabriqué pour ma scie à ruban il y a déjà deux ans. Ici je trace pour le couper en deux parties égales.

This 5/8″ plywood disc is the first circle I cut with the band saw circle cutting jig I build two years ago. Here I’m drawing a line to cut it in two equal parts.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Une façon sécuritaire pour le couper est l’utilisation de mon plateau maison pour coupes transversales.

A safe way to cut it is using my homemade crosscut sled.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je ponce ces deux faces pour un bon collage.

I’m sanding those two faces for a good glue bond.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je le laisse sous presse pendant environ deux heures.

I’m leaving it under pressure for about two hours.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je coupe ce coin à ma scie à onglets pour y fixer un crochet (ou talon) remplaçable.

I cut this corner at my miter saw to secure a replaceable hook (or heel).

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je ponce le demi-cercle pour l’égaliser et j’arrondis les coins encerclés, le tout à ma ponceuse à disque maison.

I sand the half-circle to even it out and I round over the circled corners, all this at my homemade disc sander.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je charge mon agrafeuse pneumatique avec des agrafes de 3/8″ par 9/16″, les seules que je possède d’ailleurs !

I load my pneumatic stapler with 3/8″ by 9/16″ staples, the only ones that I own !

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Maintenant j’enroule et j’agrafe une chambre à air de vélo autour de mon poussoir.

Now I wrap and staple a bicycle inner tube on my push stick.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Le fait de placer le tout dans l’étau me permet de facilement bien étendre la chambre à air.

Being secured in the vise allows me to easily stretch the inner tube as I want.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Aucune agrafe sur la partie plane où sera fixé le crochet.

No staple where the hook will be attached.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je vais couper cet excès à moitié et le cribler d’agrafes.

I will cut the remaining in half and shoot several staples.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


J’arrondis une extrémité du crochet (pour le confort), une chute de latte de parquet en HDF.

I round over one end of the hook (for comfort), a HDH floor board scrap.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Je perce le crochet en décalant les trous pour ne pas les enfoncer dans le joint de colle frais.

I drill two staggered holes in the hook so they won’t be driven in the fresh glue joint.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


J’ai coupé mon crochet pour qu’il dépasse de 3/8″ et ici je pré-perce pour deux vis au centre des pièces de contreplaqué.

I cut my hook so it will protrude 3/8″ and here I’m pre-drilling for two screws in the center of the plywood pieces.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


J’ai eu cette idée d’enrouler mon poussoir d’une chambre à air pour une prise confortable, mais surtout pour obtenir un meilleur contrôle lateral antidérapant lors de son utilisation. Je planifie l’utiliser à ma table à toupie.

I came up with the idea of wrapping my push stick with an inner tube for a comfortable grip, but primarily to get a better non-slip lateral control when in use. I’m planning to use it at the router table.

Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


16 Responses to Pneumatic Push Stick / Poussoir pneumatique

  1. wim31415 says:

    Again one of those nifty things I wil copy. Thank you, Serge

  2. Benoît says:

    Je ne suis pas convaincu que la chambre à aire soit le meilleur antidérapant qui existe…. Je privilégierais un papier de verre gros grains… Maintenant c’est vous qui voyez!.

    • Benoit,

      En effet, ce n’est pas le meilleur antidérapant qui existe. Par contre, le papier de verre gros grains est à proscrire. Jamais je n’oserais agripper un tel gros grains. Toutefois, le grain fin 220 est très approprié pour la surface qui entre en contact avec les pièces tendres ou délicates. Alors, pour toutes ces raisons et ces aspects, je considère adéquat la chambre à air pour ce projet dans son ensemble.

      Au plaisir…

  3. Eric R says:

    Your imagination never ceases to amaze me my friend.
    Now I know what to do with the old inner-tub I was about to throw away.
    Thank you Serge !

  4. Mark Butler says:

    Serge, this looks very comfortable to use. Do you find you have more control with this compared to your ones with handles?
    Mark

  5. Morgan says:

    Serge, I seem to run my sticks through the blade at times. My first reaction is what happens with the rubber in a blade. I have a sawstop and the staples don’t excite me as well. Have you had the rubber hit the blade?

    • Hey Morgan,

      Thank you for your input. I must admit that the idea of the blade catching the rubber didn’t cross my mind. I must also admit that I always keep my push sticks away from the blade. If a stick should be close to the blade, I have a dedicated one for that purpose. I have all kinds of push sticks for all kinds of uses (and I like them all), and only the dedicated one has been nicked. Your comment is a great recall to always be careful and focussed. Thank you !

      Best,

  6. David grundy says:

    Bonjour Serge,
    I like your idea of the pneumatic pushstick and I WILL make one for myself. Do you think it would benefit from a hole being cut through the wood so you can get your fingers through. Big enough of course to let go of quickly in case you get into some trouble when routing/sawing.
    A bien tot,
    David

    • Hi David,

      A hole ? Why not, it’s a matter of choice. As long as a push stick is comfortable for you, go ahead. If you don’t like them, you won’t use them.

      Best,

  7. Gaston says:

    Très bonne idée pour n’importe quel surface de bois. Continuer de nous donner de bonne idée. Merci.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

