I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d’établi et plus

J’ai quatre de ces poutres que j’ai fabriquées en MDF il y plusieurs années. Je les utilisent surtout lorsque je coupe de longue pièces avec ma scie électrique portative ou lorsque je veux relever un bâti pour y glisser des serre-joints par dessous. Aujourd’hui je veux partager d’autres utilités que j’ai trouvées.

I have four of those I-beams that I made several years ago out of MDF. I primarily use them to cut long blanks with my circular saw or when I need to raise a casing to hook clamps under. Today I want to share more uses I found.

I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d'établi et plus


Assujetties sur l’établi avec des serre-joints, je peux y fixer une planche à être travaillée sur ses champs. Ceci sera particulièrement utile lorsque je travaille dehors !

Secured on the workbench with clamps, I can use it to attach a board to be milled on its edges. That will be particularly handy when working outdoors !

I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d'établi et plus


I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d'établi et plus


Une poutre assujettie à une extrémité de l’établi me sert d’étau Moxon. Ici mes nouvelles pinces auto-ajustables seront très pratiques.

A beam secured at the end of the workbench provides a Moxon vise type. Here my new auto-adjustable clamps will be very handy.

I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d'établi et plus


I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d'établi et plus


Finalement, combien de fois j’ai jonglé pour maintenir une pièce sur le champ d’une deuxième pour la fixer ! Cette dernière trouvaille me facilitera grandement certains assemblages.

Finally, how many time I struggled to keep a piece on the edge of another to attach it ! This latter found will greatly facilitate some assemblies.

I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d'établi et plus


Pourquoi n’y ai-je pas pensé avant !

Why didn’t I think of that before !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


14 Responses to I-Beam Bench Vise and More / Une poutre en I pour étau d’établi et plus

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Thanks for sharing this Serge. I can see how I could have used these in the past and have an idea on how they will help me with a large case glue up I’m about to do.
    Mark

  2. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Très pratiques en effet et elles complètent très bien ton multisupport basé sur le même principe, multisupport que j’utilise très régulièrement car il permet de se sortir de plusieurs situations.

    Je valide donc !!!!!

    Merci pour ce nouveau partage

  3. joe says:

    going right out to my wood shop and make up a set. Great idea, thank you.

  4. garym53 says:

    Great idea – plenty of clamping areas!

  5. Jim says:

    Serge………you think up and make soooo many great jigs, I have to wonder – Where do you find a place to keep them all? Just kidding. Another great idea. Jim

  6. Brire says:

    Très pratiques. Merci pour le partage

  7. Brian Harding says:

    Bonjour Serge,

    I am amazed at how brilliant you are and constantly thinking outside the box to keep coming up with these great jig ideas and applications how to use them. I wish I was your next door neighbour as I could learn so much from the wealth of woodworking knowledge that you have acquired over the years.
    Can you please shoot me an email and tell me the dimensions of the two “I-Beam Bench Vise and More” you made. I can hardly wait to get the info from you and make them.
    Thank you for thanking me the last time for using a few French words. Being originally from Sherbrooke and Chambly, I speak much better than I write Serge, so forgive me. Assuming you are located in Quebec, which city do you live in?….just curious as I know Quebec very well. I go on fishing trips occasionally in Quebec with my old work buddies in years gone by at Bell Canada. We have had some great trips up past Shawinigan, Les Escoumains , Montebello etc etc. Love those Quebec brook trout. Also, I miss the fantastic hot dogs ( steamee’s and poutine) at La Belle Province Restaurants. When I go to Montreal, I head to La Belle Province for a feed. I am getting hungry just thinking about it. Sorry I talked so much.
    Have a great day Serge et encore un grand merci pour toute tes idee’s.

    Brian
    Kitchener , Ontario

    • Come on Brian, don’t make me blush !

      Honestly, ideas come by themselves. Because of illness that slows me down, I have plenty of time to see all ideas passing by. 🙂 I’ll send you an email shortly.

      Best,

      Serge

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

