Wet Sharpening Sub-Base / Plateau pour affûtage à eau

Lorsqu’est venu le temps de changer le plateau d’égouttement du panier à vaisselle selon le nouveau décor (!), il m’est venu l’idée d’utiliser l’ancien dans mon atelier comme plateau pour mon affûtage à eau. Ma première raison était du fait qu’il soit à l’épreuve de l’eau et que je n’aurais plus à étendre une tonne de papier sur l’établi lors de l’utilisation des pierres d’affûtage à eau. Lorsque je l’ai essayé, j’ai réalisé que du fait qu’il soit en caoutchouc, mes pierres à eau restaient immobiles lorsque je mettais la pression sur l’outil à affûter. De plus, en plaçant les pierres à eau perpendiculaires aux saillies du plateau, celles-ci offrent une meilleure résistance et elles produisent un bassin pour les résidus.

Entre vous et moi, pensez vous que la couleur du vieux plateau est bien assortie avec la couleur de mon atelier ? Au moins je crois que c’est dans la palette de couleurs du pin clair ou du tilleul !

Wet Sharpening Sub-Base / Plateau pour affûtage à eau

When time came to get a new dish cleaning drip tray to match the new décor (!), the idea of using the old one in my workshop as a wet sharpening sub-base came into my mind. First the idea of using it was the fact it’s waterproof and this tray would be preferable to the newspaper layers I used to setup on the bench when sharpening with water stones. When I tried it I realized that because the tray is made out of rubber, my water stones don’t move around anymore when I apply pressure on the tool I sharpen. By placing the water stones perpendicular to the ribs of the tray offers better resistance and the ribs provide a well for fine residue.

Between you and me, do you think the color of the old dish tray matches the color of my shop ? At least I believe it is the same color pallet as clear pine or basswood !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

10 Responses to Wet Sharpening Sub-Base / Plateau pour affûtage à eau

  1. Mark Butler says:

    Serge
    Yes I think it looks very stylish and the colour goes well with your water stones :).
    Mark

  2. FELIZ NATAL ! ! ! ! ! !

  3. Even if It didn’t it is very functional. And a simple fix. Thanks! Merry Christmas and a better New Year!

  4. myamiphil says:

    Great idea!…. I would think a light brown stain… then an overs pray of 3M adhesive spray, in selectively chosen spots..Then lightly sprinkled with the sawdust and wood chips of your choice… Add some stone dust for contrast. Bake at 100 degrees for 15 minutes…Then seal with leftover lacquer from the last project.. The stones will blend in and will hardly be noticed…

    Happy Festivus!.

  5. Jim Barry says:

    I use a rubbermaid container and keep the stone partially submerged in water. I can sharpen and then turn the stone over and hone using the finer grit. When the residue starts to accumulate on the bottom of the container I dump it out and put in fresh water. Usually once a year is sufficient.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

