Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites

Pour fixer les tablettes de l’armoire en pin que je construis actuellement, je fais l’essai d’un assemblage par vis cachées, dans des rainures, pour camoufler toutes traces de fixations tout en garantissant la solidité. J’ai pensé partager les résultats qui sont tout à fait concluants.

To attach the shelves in the pine armoire I currently building, I testing pocket hole joinery, in dadoes, so any fasteners won’t show while guaranteeing strength. I thought it would be a good idea to share the results which a very conclusive.


Mes tablettes ayant presque 3/4″ d’épaisseur, j’ai la fraise de largeur appropriée pour façonner des rainures de 1/8″ de profondeur. Même si peu profondes, la solidité est assurée. Pour faire les rainures à la table à toupie (défonceuse) j’utilise un gabarit maison.

My shelves being almost 3/4″ thick, I have the appropriate width bit to mill 1/8″ depth dadoes. Even if they are shallow, solidity is assured. To make the dadoes at the router table I’m using my homemade jig.

Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


J’ajuste le collet (ou butée) de profondeur de mon foret pour vis cachées pour une épaisseur de matériaux de 1/2″, même si j’utilise des planches de pin de 3/4″ d’épaisseur.

I set the depth stop collar of my pocket hole drill bit for 1/2″ thickness material, even if I’m using 3/4″ thick pine boards.

Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Je place mon gabarit selon les directions pour matériaux de 3/4″ d’épaisseur, égal à l’extrémité.

I set my jig according to the 3/4″ thick material instructions, flush with the end.

Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Tel que montré, les vis de 1-1/4″ recommandées pour les matériaux de 3/4″ sont parfaites.

As shown, recommended 1-1/4″ screws for 3/4″ material thickness are perfect.

Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Ensuite j’ai réglé la butée de profondeur pour une épaisseur de matériaux de 3/4″ d’épaisseur et j’ai testé avec une vis de 1″.

Then I set the depth stop collar for 3/4″ thick material and tested a 1″ screw.

Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites


Conclusion #1 : Les deux fonctionnent, mais la première méthode est la plus efficace. Alors je vais utilisé le réglage du foret pour 1/2″ et des vis de 1-1/4″.

Conclusion #2 : Ne pas toujours suivre les recommandations du manufacturier !

Soyez patient pour le reste !

Conclusion #1 : Both work, but the first method is more effective. So, I’ll use the 1/2″ drill bit setting and 1-1/4″ screws.

Conclusion #2 : Don’t always follow manufacturers’ recommendations !

Be patient for the rest !


Inscrivez-vous gratuitement en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register for free at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

2 Responses to Out of Limit Pocket Hole Joinery / Assemblage par vis cachées hors limites

  1. Joe Gomola says:

    very nicely presented. It took me a couple of times reading the article to understand. You were leaving more wood for support in the pocket hole on the shelf by using a shorter depth stop on the drill bit. By using the recommended jig setting and screw length for material thickness the angle of the pocket hole keeps the screw centered in the shelf.

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

