Drive T-nuts Perfectly Square / Enfoncez les écrous à griffes parfaitement d’équerre

Au cours des années j’ai appris que je ne devais pas me fier à un marteau si je veux enfoncer des écrous à griffes bien droites et perpendiculaires à une surface. Cependant, dans les matériaux durs je pré-perce toujours pour les griffes et j’utilise le marteau que pour engager ces dernières.

Over the years I found out that I can’t rely on a hammer if I want to drive T-nuts straight and perpendicular to a surface. However, in hard stock I always pre-drill for the prongs and I use a hammer only to engage those latter.

Drive T-nuts Perfectly Square / Enfoncez les écrous à griffes parfaitement d'équerre


Ensuite j’utilise un boulon et une rondelle, tel que le montre la rondelle et la tête du boulon à droite.

Then I use a bolt and a washer, as shown by the washer and the bolt head at right.

Drive T-nuts Perfectly Square / Enfoncez les écrous à griffes parfaitement d'équerre


J’assujettis la tête du boulon dans un étau de mécanicien et ainsi je peux graduellement les enfoncer parfaitement d’équerre en appliquant la pression de serrage requise.

I secure the bolt head in a mechanic’s vise and I’m able to gradually drive them perfectly square while applying the required screwing torque.

Drive T-nuts Perfectly Square / Enfoncez les écrous à griffes parfaitement d'équerre


Voici une série de boutons pour un gabarit futur.

Here’s a series of knobs for a future jig.

Drive T-nuts Perfectly Square / Enfoncez les écrous à griffes parfaitement d'équerre


Pour les grandes pièces j’utilise également un boulon et une rondelle, mais conjointement avec un clé pour graduellement les enfoncer également d’équerre.

For larger pieces I also use a bolt and a washer, but along with a wrench to also gradually drive them down straight.


Inscrivez-vous en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

4 Responses to Drive T-nuts Perfectly Square / Enfoncez les écrous à griffes parfaitement d’équerre

  1. Mark Butler says:

    I do the same but never thought of pre-drilling. Thanks for the tip. Hope we get to see the jig!
    Mark

  2. Thomas Tieffenbacher/akadocSavage45 says:

    I had a great idea…that failed. mounting 4 inch locking casters ( both wheel and bearing) to the bottom of my refurbished woodworkers bench made from one section of a bench I had mounted to my wall. 2×4 legs 1/2 inch diameter stem. Could only find them on Ebay. Drilled the stem and collar. Oh yeah the stem and starnut threads were so tight at the point of coming through I had to work them through with my vice and wrenches. Got it together! Mounted the star nuts and castors. turned the table over to find even when locked it wobbled. Turned it over and tapped the castors with a hammer and yep they easily came off.

    I realized the anchor was too flimsy. And the castors too high. Bought them because i thought they would be more heavy duty. The bench had to be set on 2×4’s to come up to match my comfort height. A friend suggested epoxy the nuts. But I think it might be not enough anchor for the legs.

    Noticed you are not into end grain in your handles. Might be another factor? Right now I am using the bench and thinking what I might do with these castors.

    Tom

    • Hi Tom,

      Another headache as I can see ! 🙂 I’m sorry about that. You’re right, my handles are not into end grain and as you metioned, it could be a factor. About your casters, sooner or later you’ll find a good use.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

