1-2-3 Testing / 1-2-3 Testing

Au cours des années j’ai acheté beaucoup de moteurs électriques dans des brocantes et des ventes de garage. Économiser sur ceux-ci était ma façon de faire. La contre partie est qu’aucun ne vient avec une notice ou un diagramme pour le branchement.

Quand vient le temps d’ajouter un fil à un moteur, je prends les cordons à tester que j’ai fabriqués au fil des années pour trouver celui comportant les terminaux appropriés aux bornes cachées sous le couvercle de la boîte électrique du boitier du moteur.

Pour fabriquer mes cordons à tester j’ai utilisé des cordons que j’ai récupérés de petits appareils ménagers avant de les envoyer au recycleur. Tel que montré sur la photo, j’en ai fabriqué un pour chaque type de bornes couramment trouvées sur les moteurs électriques. Et pour être prudent, je teste toutes mes connections en utilisant une multiprise, laquelle possède un disjoncteur intégré, afin que ce dernier soit celui qui se déclenche, si je fais une erreur, au lieu de celui de la boîte électrique principale de la maison.

Après avoir examiné les bornes dans le boîtier du moteur pour trouver lesquelles seraient les plus appropriées (par chance certains moteurs n’en ont que deux) (soit dit en passant, je n’ai aucun antécédent en électricité), je branche le cordon à tester approprié au moteur, ensuite je branche la multiprise dans la prise électrique murale, je place l’interrupteur de la multiprise à Off, ensuite je branche le cordon à tester dans la multiprise, et dans un mouvement rapide j’actionne l’interrupteur de la multiprise de On à Off. Si je le disjoncteur ne prend pas un coup, alors je le replace à On pour voir le moteur tourner.

J’utilise mes ensembles de fils pour toutes applications électriques.


 

Over the years I bought several electric motors from yard sales and flea markets. Saving money on these was the way to go for me. The back draw is that any comes with a user’s manual and/or a connecting diagram.

When time comes to wire a motor I reach for the testing cords I made over the years to find the one with appropriate connectors that match with the ones hidden behind the electrical box lid in the motor casing.

To make my testing cords I use electric wires that I salvaged from small appliances before sending them to the scrap yard. As shown on the photo, I made one set for each type of terminals usually found in electric motors. And to be on the safe side, I test all connections using a power bar, which has an inboard circuit breaker, so this latter will be triggered instead of the one from the house main electrical panel if my guess should be wrong.

After looking at the terminals in the motor box to find what I think would be more appropriate (fortunately some motors have only two) (by the way, I have no electrical backgrounds), I connect the suitable testing wire to the motor, then plug the power bar in the wall electrical outlet, I turn the switch of the power bar Off, then I plug the testing wire in the power bar, and in a quick motion I flip the power bar On and Off. If the circuit breaker doesn’t trip, subsequently I turn it back On to watch the motor spinning.

I use these wire sets for all electrical testing applications.


1-2-3 Testing


Fabriquez les vôtres et soyez confiant !

Maintenant, jetez un œil comment je les range.

Make yours and be confident !

Now, take a look on how I store them.


Inscrivez-vous en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


11 Responses to 1-2-3 Testing / 1-2-3 Testing

  1. Qtronik says:

    La prochaine fois apportez vous un petit multimètre et testez la résistance aux bornes.
    S’il n’y a pas de résistance alors “Il est mort Jim”.
    De même si il y a une résistance en une borne et le châssis alors les bobines ne sont plus isolé…
    Ceci pour les moteur à deux bornes (DC)

  2. J.D. says:

    Back in ’70’s I managed a surplus electronics store in Minneapolis, MN. We jokingly referred to this type of cord as “a suicide cord”! 😉

    Be very careful!

    As a matter of safety we incorporated a double-pole push switch into the cord. This guaranteed only a momentary connection and the switch broke both the neutral and the hot legs.

    Sort of like a ‘deadman’s switch’. Please forgive the macabre references.

    • Thank you for your input J.D., More advises and more precautions are better than not enough.

      Best,

      • J.D. says:

        Serge, I really enjoy your weekly posts! I never fail to find a great tip or two or three.

        I thought of another test fixture that I use quite a bit. I have a light socket in series with the hot lead of an extension cord. If I sense that the device under test may have a short circuit I screw in a light bulb – 50 to 250 watt.

        The light bulb limits the current. If the device is, in fact, shorted the worst that can happen is that the light bulb will light to full brilliance.

        Handy!

        Thanks again,

        J.D.

        • Thank you J.D. for your kind words. And thank you for sharing this bulb idea. I makes a lot of sense !

          Best,

          • Simon says:

            Lightbulb are cheap “fuses”. They are used in High School for introduction to electricity as fuses on students circuits.

            I used them in the past as well but I upgraded my test bench recently for a small two breaker setup. New energy laws in US and Canada are banning the sale of incandescent light bulb for most applications.

          • Hi Simon, And today multimiters are readily available and cheap for someone who wants to spend some time Learning how they work. I believe I’m too old and I stick to my old rigs. 😉

            Best,

  3. Boudreau May says:

    Setting up a new shop retired and very happy I stumbled onto your site. I have really enjoyed everything so far and looking forward to applying them into my shop. I want to thank you for taking the effort and time to share your wealth of experience. Thank You from “My Old Kentucky Home” !

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

