Brown Sanding Pads / Tampons de ponçage bruns

Au cours des années j’ai essayé plusieurs méthodes (ou gadgets) pour poncer les fibres du bois relevés lorsqu’un produit de finition à l’eau est utilisé, pour poncer entre les couches et pour polir certaines couches finales. Un jour, alors que je déballais un colis et ressentais la rugosité du papier brun qui remplissait l’emballage d’une commande comme j’en reçois régulièrement de revendeurs en ligne, j’ai eu l’idée de l’essayer sur le projet en pin sur lequel je travaillais. Compte tenu que le fini était à base d’eau j’ai pu tester toutes les étapes du processus de finition. J’ai été impressionné ! J’ai poncé entre toutes les étapes préalablement décrites avec un morceau de papier brun replié, et le polissage final m’a donné un reflet que je n’ai jamais eu. Mis à part le fini superbe, le papier brun possède le juste niveau d’abrasif et est facilement disponible (peut même être recyclé). 

Over the years I tried many methods (or gadgets) to sand raised grain when using water-based finishing products, to sand between coats and to buff particular final coats. One day, while unwrapping and feeling the brown paper filling from  the order I regularly receive from online woodworking suppliers, I came up with the idea of using it on the pine project I was working on. Since the finish was water-based, I was able to test it in all steps of the finishing process. I was impressed ! I sanded with a folded piece of brown paper between all the previously mentioned steps, and the final buffing gave me the superb shine I never got. Besides the fact the finish is awesome, the brown paper has just the right abrasive grit and it is readily available (can also be recycled).

Brown Sanding Pads / Tampons de ponçage bruns


Brown Sanding Pads / Tampons de ponçage bruns


Je replie mon tampon de papier brun fréquemment pour toujours en retirer une surface de ponçage fraîche. Ci-dessous, comparez un papier utilisé et un non-utilisé.

I frequently re-fold my brown paper pad to always get a fresh rubbing surface from it. Below, compare an used and unused paper.

Brown Sanding Pads / Tampons de ponçage bruns


Inscrivez-vous en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

2 Responses to Brown Sanding Pads / Tampons de ponçage bruns

  1. Gord Roberts says:

    If I live to be twice my age (would be old), I would never have thought of this. Truly brilliant use of resources. Thanks, Gord

    • My pleasure, Gord.
      Since I’m confined at home I have the time to ‘listen to’ and to ‘look at’ what is available around me. Since I’m very slow in my moves, I have and take the time to feel what I hold and/or what should be the best. I must say that I have much more time than energy though.
      Best,
      Serge

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

