Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d’un volant de freinage au tour à bois

Quand j’ai acheté mon mini tour à bois j’ai spontanément apprécié le volant de freinage de ce nouvel outil. Puisque mon ancien tour ne possède pas cette merveille, j’en ai fabriqué un.

When I purchased my midi wood lathe I spontaneously appreciated the handwheel of this new tool. Since my former wood lathe doesn’t feature such wonderful device, I made one.

Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d'un volant de freinage au tour à bois


J’ai utilisé cette technique pour couper un disque de MDF 1/2″ d’épaisseur.

I used this technique to cut a 1/2″ thick MDF disk.

Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d'un volant de freinage au tour à bois


Après l’avoir percé et poncé, j’ai monté le disque sur mon ancien tour, après avoir acheté à ma quincaillerie l’écrou à pas à gauche approprié pour l’arbre fileté externe de la poupée fixe.

When drilled and sanded, I mounted the disk on the outer threaded end of the headstock, after I acquired the appropriate left hand thread nut from my hardware store.

Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d'un volant de freinage au tour à bois


Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d'un volant de freinage au tour à bois


Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d'un volant de freinage au tour à bois


Il y a toujours un moyen !

There’s always a way !


Inscrivez-vous en haut à droite et…

Bon bricolage !

Register at the upper right and…

Happy Woodworking !


 

4 Responses to Adding a Wood Lathe Handwheel / Ajout d’un volant de freinage au tour à bois

  1. bill says:

    when making the “wheel’ on your router you have a flat -material on the base is that just something you made for the process/ finally in making this circle how do you determine center to center of the pin hole to the center of your 1/4 inch bit—–my question stems from my wish to make a “cutout rather than a circle—in order to put an insert disk in place…
    thanks

    • Hi Bill,

      That flat material I use is a particleboard so the router bit won’t damage my workbench. I determine the dismeter of the circle by measuring the distance from the center point of the circle and the inner edge of router bit.

      To make the cutout you mentioned, I suggest you use an Inlay Set. They are cheap and accurate. You use it as you would to make a dutchman patch (12 min. video).

      Here are two suppliers:
      Lee Valley
      Busy Bee Tools

      I hope the above can help.

      Best,

  2. Ken says:

    Nice!

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

