My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d’atelier au quartz

Demeurant au Québec où sept mois par année nous sommes dans le froid, voici un autre outil indispensable que je me suis procuré. Deux niveaux de chauffage, 750 et 1500 watts, pour 45$ ( en rabais).

Living in Quebec where seven months a year we are in the cold weather, here is another indispensable tool that I acquired. Two heating levels, 750 and 1500 watts, for 45$ (on sale).

My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d'atelier au quartz


Étant léger, deux vis suffisent pour le fixer sur une solive du plafond.

Being light, two screws are sufficient to secure it to a ceiling joist.

My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d'atelier au quartz


My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d'atelier au quartz


Il est recommandé de le brancher directement dans une prise électrique, ce que j’ai de disponible au plafond.

It is recommended to plug it directly in an electric outlet, what I have available on the ceiling.

My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d'atelier au quartz


Une lumière halogène est intégrée et il aura fallu 45 secondes pour que le radiateur produise sa chaleur maximale, tel que montré.

A halogen light is built in and it took 45 seconds for the heater to produce its full heating power, as shown.

My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d'atelier au quartz


Le radiateur étant localisé à une extrémité de mon établi, où je suis à 80% de mon temps d’atelier, le réglage minimal de 750 watts est parfait pour mes besoins.

The heater being located at the end of my workbench, where I spend 80% of my shop time, the minimum 750 watt setting is perfect for my needs.

My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d'atelier au quartz


Inscrivez-vous à droite et… Bon bricolage !

Register at right and… Happy Woodworking !


4 Responses to My New Shop Quartz Heater / Mon nouveau radiateur d’atelier au quartz

  1. eddieantley says:

    Serge gotta love the heaters , just did the same down here stay warm my friend and as always thanks for sharing

    • Hi Eddie, After few days only, I already love it. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Thank you also for following me in my woodworking journey.

      Best,

  2. Mark Butler says:

    I have the same one over my bench and I love it. It’s great for drying the finish on small projects as well. Yesterday my shop was at 10 degrees C and I wanted to get 3 coats of polyurethane on a knife handle I made. I got all 3 coats hard and dry in 45 minutes by drying it about 18″ from the heater.

    I also have a 20 foot propane infrared heater that I use to bring the shop up to temperature quickly but I use it more for drying finishes than I do space heating. It drys the finish before dust gets a chance to settle on it. Here in New Brunswick electric heat is less than propane so I try to heat as much as I can with electricity.

    Thanks for sharing all your shop tips.

    • Hi Mark, Thank you for sharing this drying tip. This one will be very useful here. Yesterday I made a glue-up and I also noticed that my new heater location does affect (read shorten) the open time of carpenter’s glues. I think I’ll tune it off when glueing and from now surely turn it on when finishing.

      The main heating system of my basement shop is electric baseboard heaters (kept at 17°C), but it takes for ever to raise the temperature, reason why I acquired this third quartz heater.

      Thank you for stopping by and for sharing your comment and tips. Thank you as well for following me in my woodworking journey.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

