CD Storage Cabinet #11 Armoire range CD

Je centre la porte en hauteur, je place deux cartes superposées du côté des charnières et j’en insère également d’autres du côté opposé pour la coincer temporairement.

I center the door lengthwise, I place two stacked playing cards on the hinge side and I insert more cards on the opposite side to temporarily jam it.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Je centre le barillet de la charnière au-dessus de la ligne du joint et je l’aligne avec les cartes.

I center the hinge barrel above the joint line and I align it with the cards.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Ce pointeau à ressort est l’outil idéal pour marquer le centre.

This spring loaded center punch is the ideal tool to mark the center.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Je me suis fabriqué cette butée pour ne pas percer la porte entièrement.

I made myself this stop so I won’t drill all the way through the door.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

J’ai eu l’idée de fabriquer ce bouclier avec un couvercle de plastique parce que trop souvent mon tournevis a glissé en enfonçant des vis à bois à tête fendue.

I came up with the idea of making this shield from a plastic lid because too often my screwdriver slipped while driving slotted wood screws.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Je commence par les vis du cadre pour finir par les vis de la porte.

I’m starting with the frame screws to end up with the door screws.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Et j’ai effectivement glissé !

And I definitively slipped !

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Pour finir le projet, le loquet et la poignée sont installés. La grande rondelle est glissée sous le loquet pour éviter le frottement.

To complete the project, the latch and the pull are installed. The larger washer fits under the latch to prevent rubbing.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

Enfin le résultat final. J’adore ! C’est exactement ce que j’avais en tête.

Je pourrai utiliser mon armoire dans environ une semaine, le temps de laisser durcir le fini au polyuréthane satiné.

Finally the final result. I love it ! It’s exactly what I had in mind.

I’ll be able to use my cabinet in about a week, time required for the satin polyurethane finish to harden.

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

CD Storage Cabinet

_____________________________________________________

CD Storage Cabinet

_______________________________________

Bon bricolage !

Happy Woodworking !

_______________________________________

8 Responses to CD Storage Cabinet #11 Armoire range CD

  1. diggerjack says:

    Salut Serge

    Très belle réalisation. Quels Cds vas tu mettre dedans ?

    Je trouve la base du meuble particulièrement belle et donc cela copié forcément !!!

    Au plaisir d’un nouveau projet

    • Salut Jack,

      Merci. Pour répondre à ta question, je vais y ranger des CD… en plastique ! 🙂

      Et merci de copier !! 😉 Et enfin un autre projet à débuter.

      Au plaisir…

  2. jverreault says:

    Great cabinet and the shield idea for your screw driver. I would suggest filing the tip so that the flat sides are parallel rather than tapered like traditional cabinetmaker screw drivers were. I believe Lee Valley has a set with this design. Just my 2 cents worth (er, I guess we have to use nickels now that the penny is history).

    Cheers
    John

    • Thank you, John. As suggested, I’ll take a closer look at my favorite screwdrivers. I don’t plan to buy a new set but it would be easy for me to customized one or two of my own.

      Best,

      Serge

  3. Christian says:

    Bonjour Serge, encore très belle réalisation comme à ton habitude quel joie de te suivre dans tout tes reportage. A très bientôt. Christian

  4. pelogiaJosé Pelógia says:

    Good job, Serge!
    Greetings from Brazil

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

