Pin Nail Multiplication / Multiplication de clous sans tête

Que fait-on quand on est à court de clous sans tête lorsque tous les détaillants sont fermés ? J’ai trouvé mon idée: La multiplication. J’avais besoin de clous de 1-1/2″ mais j’avais uniquement sous la main des 2″, lesquels étaient beaucoup trop longs. J’ai essayé de les couper avec une cisaille à tôle, avec succès.

What do you do when you run out of pin nails when all retailers are closed? I found my answer: Multiplication. I needed 1-1/2” pin nails but I had 2” on hand, which were way too long. I tried to cut them with tin snips and it worked.

 Pin Nail Multiplication

_______________________________________________________

Compte tenu que je n’avais pas de clous de 1/2″ également j’ai décidé de faire d’une pierre deux coups. J’ai conservé la fine pointe sur ceux de 1/2″ et j’ai décidé de meuler une pointe sur les 1-1/2″. Ce fut une bonne décision car il aurait été malcommode de maintenir ces plus petits au touret d’établi.

Since I didn’t have 1/2” nails as well I tried to kill two birds with one stone. I kept the sharp points with the 1/2” nails and decided to grind sharp the 1-1/2” nails. Good decision because the smallest may have been awkward to hold at the bench grinder.

 Pin Nail Multiplication

_______________________________________________________

Pour les aiguiser je les ai serrés entre deux minces chutes de bois, le tout maintenu entre les mâchoires d’une pince à ressort et me suis dirigé au touret pour affuter les deux côtés de la languette, tout en respectant les flèches de direction. Génial !

To sharpen the nails I sandwiched the strip between two thin wood scraps, held the whole assembly with a spring clamp and headed to the bench grinder to sharpen both sides of the strip, still respecting the direction arrows. Great !

 Pin Nail Multiplication

_______________________________________________________

 Pin Nail Multiplication

_______________________________________________________

Puisque je possède cette boîte de 10000 clous de 2″, je suis certain que je ne manquerai plus jamais de petits.

Since I own this 10000 2” pin nail box, I’m sure I will never run out of smaller pin nails again.

 Pin Nail Multiplication

_______________________________________________________

Bon bricolage !

Happy Woodworking !

_______________________________________________________

4 Responses to Pin Nail Multiplication / Multiplication de clous sans tête

  1. Wally Flower says:

    When I use a knife that is only sharpened on one side it tends to cut off in a direction away from the bevel. Does the nail that is sharpened on only one side tend to curve as it travels through the wood?

    • Wally, I raised the same question when I wrote this post, but I relied on my memory, what was a mistake. After reading your comment I when down in the shop to find out that I did sharpen both sides (that was a while ago). I immediately made the correction in both languages.
      Thank you very much for your support.

      Best,

Leave a Reply / Laissez une réponse

